Videos in TSW?

Get help for TSW - running it, problems you may have, advice needed...

Moderator: ricksan

Videos in TSW?

Unread postby OldProf » Tue Mar 28, 2017 9:22 am

With Fraps on the forbidden list, is there a way to record videos in TSW?
Tom Pallen (Old Prof)

{Win 10 Home 64-bit; Intel Core i7 6700 @ 3.40GHz; 16.0GB Single-Channel @ 1063 MHz (15-15-15-364); 2047MB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960}
User avatar
OldProf
 
Posts: 2748
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 10:09 am

Re: Videos in TSW?

Unread postby buzz456 » Tue Mar 28, 2017 9:53 am

I don't know any reason Bandicam wouldn't work.
Buzz
39 and holding.
"Some people find fault like there's a reward for it."- Zig Ziglar
"If you can dream it you can do it."- Walt Disney
Image
User avatar
buzz456
Site Admin
 
Posts: 15864
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2010 8:30 am
Location: Sycamore, Il

Re: Videos in TSW?

Unread postby fraserm » Tue Mar 28, 2017 10:18 am

I haven't used it in an age, but I'm curious - why is it in the forbidden list? I searched the forum but can't find anything relevant...
!*don-know!*

M
Desktop:
AMD FX-8350 4.0GHz
Corsair H100i CPU Liquid Cooler
ASUS Crosshair V Formula Z MB
16GB RAM PC3 12800
ASUS GeForce GTX Titan 6GB GDDR5
960GB Crucial SSD
Laptop:
Alienware 17 i7-4710 2.5GHz
16GB DDR3
GeForce GTX 860M 2GB GDDR5
256 GB SSD Boot & Cache
1 TB Crucial SSD for Apps
1 TB Seagate SSHD for Downloads and Backup
User avatar
fraserm
 
Posts: 413
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: Southern New Hampshire, U.S.A.

Re: Videos in TSW?

Unread postby OldProf » Tue Mar 28, 2017 10:43 am

fraserm wrote:I haven't used it in an age, but I'm curious - why is it in the forbidden list? I searched the forum but can't find anything relevant...
!*don-know!*

M


Since I always ran Fraps with TS, it had loaded when I launched TSW for the first time. A pop-up appeared stating that Fraps was not compatible with TSW and should be stopped before continuing to load TSW, so I stopped it and TSW loaded without further problems. I honestly don't remember the "owner" of that pop-up, but I have stopped Fraps from launching when windows starts.
Tom Pallen (Old Prof)

{Win 10 Home 64-bit; Intel Core i7 6700 @ 3.40GHz; 16.0GB Single-Channel @ 1063 MHz (15-15-15-364); 2047MB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960}
User avatar
OldProf
 
Posts: 2748
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 10:09 am

Re: Videos in TSW?

Unread postby fraserm » Tue Mar 28, 2017 10:47 am

Thanks, Tom. That's very interesting indeed.
Best, !*cheers*!
M.
Desktop:
AMD FX-8350 4.0GHz
Corsair H100i CPU Liquid Cooler
ASUS Crosshair V Formula Z MB
16GB RAM PC3 12800
ASUS GeForce GTX Titan 6GB GDDR5
960GB Crucial SSD
Laptop:
Alienware 17 i7-4710 2.5GHz
16GB DDR3
GeForce GTX 860M 2GB GDDR5
256 GB SSD Boot & Cache
1 TB Crucial SSD for Apps
1 TB Seagate SSHD for Downloads and Backup
User avatar
fraserm
 
Posts: 413
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: Southern New Hampshire, U.S.A.

Re: Videos in TSW?

Unread postby OldProf » Tue Mar 28, 2017 1:06 pm

Just a quick update: Windows 10 has its own video recorder for use with games, but it won't work in TSW either full screen or windowed. So I'm still looking. I know that some of you have posted videos -- how did you record them?
Tom Pallen (Old Prof)

{Win 10 Home 64-bit; Intel Core i7 6700 @ 3.40GHz; 16.0GB Single-Channel @ 1063 MHz (15-15-15-364); 2047MB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960}
User avatar
OldProf
 
Posts: 2748
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 10:09 am

Re: Videos in TSW?

Unread postby buzz456 » Tue Mar 28, 2017 3:30 pm

Buzz
39 and holding.
"Some people find fault like there's a reward for it."- Zig Ziglar
"If you can dream it you can do it."- Walt Disney
Image
User avatar
buzz456
Site Admin
 
Posts: 15864
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2010 8:30 am
Location: Sycamore, Il

Re: Videos in TSW?

Unread postby trev123 » Tue Mar 28, 2017 5:05 pm

The Nvidia video recorder doesn't work either. Pressing the start recording button does nothing.
Intel i5-2500K 3.3GHz Quad Core, Asus P8Z 68-V LE MB, Asus GTX 1060 6g Strix gaming graphics card, Windows 10 Home 64 bit, 16gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3 ram, Viewsonic VX2452 LED 1080P HD Monitor, Seagate Barracuda 1 TB 64MB Sata3 HD, Seagate Firecuda 2TB HD, Corsair 650W PSU.
User avatar
trev123
 
Posts: 1480
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 9:40 pm
Location: Home Of The Americas Cup

Re: Videos in TSW?

Unread postby ex-railwayman » Tue Mar 28, 2017 5:12 pm

OldProf wrote:With Fraps on the forbidden list, is there a way to record videos in TSW?

According to Matt P; when I brought this FRAPS issue to his attention, when the BETA version was released, he said he wasn't aware of any problems, I have been using FRAPS for every one of my screenshots in TSW and had no problems whatsoever, I am sure that this is some advertising/marketing gimmick by UE4, rather than DTG, if you can utilise it to video stuff Tom, then just ignore these warning pop up messages, I did and have had no ill effects.

Cheerz. ex-railwayman. Steve.
i5 4690 3.5 GHz Quad Core CPU, Gigabyte Z97-HD3, 16GB RAM, nVidia GTX1060 6GB, WIN 7 PRO 64-bit.
ex-railwayman
 
Posts: 1178
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2010 6:17 pm
Location: Nottingham, England

Re: Videos in TSW?

Unread postby BNSFdude » Tue Mar 28, 2017 9:43 pm

I use OBS with no problems.
Anthony Wood
Audio Engineer - Searchlight Simulations
BNSFdude
Forum Mod
 
Posts: 2553
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 1:46 am

Re: Videos in TSW?

Unread postby OldProf » Wed Mar 29, 2017 9:14 am

Curiouser and curiouser . . . this just came in a reply from DTG: "There's lots of different software that people use to record videos in software in general, quite a popular paid one is FRAPS http://www.fraps.com/"

So, I guess I'll give Fraps another try.
Tom Pallen (Old Prof)

{Win 10 Home 64-bit; Intel Core i7 6700 @ 3.40GHz; 16.0GB Single-Channel @ 1063 MHz (15-15-15-364); 2047MB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960}
User avatar
OldProf
 
Posts: 2748
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 10:09 am

Re: Videos in TSW?

Unread postby OldProf » Wed Mar 29, 2017 2:01 pm

BNSFdude wrote:I use OBS with no problems.


I've installed OBS, but cannot get it to record TSW: all I get is a blank screen. I've looked at the help file, but it hasn't helped me. !*don-know!*
Tom Pallen (Old Prof)

{Win 10 Home 64-bit; Intel Core i7 6700 @ 3.40GHz; 16.0GB Single-Channel @ 1063 MHz (15-15-15-364); 2047MB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960}
User avatar
OldProf
 
Posts: 2748
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 10:09 am

Re: Videos in TSW?

Unread postby BNSFdude » Wed Mar 29, 2017 4:22 pm

OldProf wrote:
BNSFdude wrote:I use OBS with no problems.


I've installed OBS, but cannot get it to record TSW: all I get is a blank screen. I've looked at the help file, but it hasn't helped me. !*don-know!*

I select my video source to be "Monitor Capture" rather than game capture. Works great for me.
Anthony Wood
Audio Engineer - Searchlight Simulations
BNSFdude
Forum Mod
 
Posts: 2553
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 1:46 am


Return to TSW Help forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest