Almost stuck at a dead end

Discussion about RailWorks route design.

Almost stuck at a dead end

Unread postby SAR704 » Mon Jun 17, 2019 4:14 am

I am still pondering at how to script signals, as I have a suspicion that DTG/Kuju/RS has intentionally left out important information on how to build them from the ground up/script them from scratch, and there doesn't seem to be any highly detailed tutorials that portray this.

I essentially need about 4 signals. These being SAR semaphore ones with 1, 2, and 3 arms respectively. I also need one of these tiny signals that sits on a stump that is shown below. They will be mostly buried, so only visible at the junction and a couple of places on the line that the branch start from.

Here are some images of the ones that are necessary. Look alikes (if any exist) are more than welcome as well.
Sigs1.jpg
Sigs1.jpg (18.82 KiB) Viewed 332 times

sig2_DJ.jpg
sig2_DJ.jpg (51.96 KiB) Viewed 332 times

sig3_DJ.jpg
sig3_DJ.jpg (30.06 KiB) Viewed 332 times

img6.jpg
img6.jpg (2 KiB) Viewed 332 times


Are there any that look like these around the place? I have one that is finished, but I am clueless in regards to how to script them, and set up the blueprints. I can't even get it to appear in the game. If I can't find a solution, then my route will go to waste, like another one that i built (there is a solution for this, as signals aren't the problem).

Thanks
SAR704
Geforce GTX 1060
8GB RAM
Intel Core i3-3220 3.30ghz
SAR704
 
Posts: 571
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2011 9:48 am
Location: Adelaide, South Australia

Almost stuck at a dead end

Unread postby RailWorkshop » Mon Jun 17, 2019 12:17 pm

https://www.railsim-fr.com/forum/index. ... C3%A7aise/
Unfortunately the documentation is in French.

A very good signal file that includes source folder is included for better understanding - https://www.uktrainsim.com/filelib-info ... leid=31866
This UKTS file will definitely help you. !*brav*!
RailWorkshop
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2018 3:18 pm

Re: Almost stuck at a dead end

Unread postby SAR704 » Sun Jul 14, 2019 10:06 am

Thanks for the links, appreciated. I didn't get around to replying to this post until now, but whilst it may seem like I am slightly unappreciative of the info provided by the members to myself, it is not the case. I do at times subconsciously overlook the obvious, and it fades into oblivion.

I have decided to bury the signals within the route, as there are next to no signals from start to end with this line, and retrying after the route is out of the way will ease the pressure to a degree. But is there a way to get the signal state to show up in the default interface when driving a consist? I am using the BR LMS Signal Kit V3 by John Yelland. I have no idea as to whether or not these are even absolute or permissive, but I just wanted some signals that at least vaguely resemble SAR ones. I may pass on the wigwags for crossings too, as there are almost no crossings which would have had them on this line, and it's another animated object that will need to be built.

I am also unsure as to how far the signals can be placed apart. I have placed them in loops, and the odd siding (a max of about 6kms between signals). But having never done this before, it gives me nothing to go by, and hence I am acting on instinct. I watched a 'Youtube' tutorial about placing them, and I have made sure to place them in line with the icon that appears on the track.

I just hope I haven't destroyed the route.
Geforce GTX 1060
8GB RAM
Intel Core i3-3220 3.30ghz
SAR704
 
Posts: 571
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2011 9:48 am
Location: Adelaide, South Australia


Return to Route Design

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests