Montour Release

Discussion about RailWorks route design.

Montour Release

Unread postby gtrtroger » Sat Aug 27, 2016 11:55 am

Just noticed a release of the Montour Railroad was in today's library updates. What changed?
User avatar
gtrtroger
 
Posts: 918
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2014 7:31 am
Location: Montgomery, Alabama

Re: Montour Release

Unread postby buzz456 » Sat Aug 27, 2016 2:29 pm

I have no idea if he did any track work but a major addition to the scenery. Just started exploring.
Buzz
39 and holding.
"Some people find fault like there's a reward for it."- Zig Ziglar
"If you can dream it you can do it."- Walt Disney
Image
User avatar
buzz456
Site Admin
 
Posts: 16038
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2010 8:30 am
Location: Sycamore, Il

Re: Montour Release

Unread postby gtrtroger » Sat Aug 27, 2016 3:09 pm

Thanks Buzz... TIme to drag out the old P&LE....
User avatar
gtrtroger
 
Posts: 918
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2014 7:31 am
Location: Montgomery, Alabama

Re: Montour Release

Unread postby Rich_S » Sun Aug 28, 2016 4:42 pm

Group, The car yard tail track was changed at Groveton, it never connected to the East wye track. The Groveton yard tracks have been renamed, with their correct names. The missing industrial siding was added at Groveton. The siding at McAdams was extended as the local industry never had it's own siding, but instead used the East end of the McAdams passing siding. There are a few other locations where the location names have been corrected. At this point, this is as close as I can get to what once existed and I do not plan on making any further updates to the Montour route. Enjoy the route guys and sorry if the updates have broken the scenarios created for version 1.0.
Cheers,
Rich S.
User avatar
Rich_S
 
Posts: 708
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 11:19 pm
Location: Baden, PA, USA

Re: Montour Release

Unread postby gtrtroger » Sun Aug 28, 2016 6:34 pm

Thanks Rich!
User avatar
gtrtroger
 
Posts: 918
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2014 7:31 am
Location: Montgomery, Alabama

Re: Montour Release

Unread postby Chacal » Sun Aug 28, 2016 9:23 pm

Thanks Rich, I've added this to the description in the file library.
Over the hill and gathering speed
Chacal
 
Posts: 4804
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2011 1:11 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: Montour Release

Unread postby harryadkins » Mon Aug 29, 2016 12:22 pm

What do we do with the MTR_V11_TemplateRoutes.zip file that is included?
User avatar
harryadkins
 
Posts: 1937
Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2009 8:01 am
Location: South Carolina, USA

Re: Montour Release

Unread postby Rich_S » Mon Aug 29, 2016 5:30 pm

harryadkins wrote:What do we do with the MTR_V11_TemplateRoutes.zip file that is included?


Harry, The TemplateRoutes.zip file should add the icons to the Rail Works menus.

Image

If your Rail Works menu already contains the above picture, then just delete the TemplatesRoutes.zip file, other wise uncompress the zip file and copy the contents to the follow folder.

Code: Select all
C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\railworks\Assets\RichardShirey\Development\TemplateRoutes


Of course this assumes you've installed Steam in C:\Program Files (x86).
Cheers,
Rich S.
User avatar
Rich_S
 
Posts: 708
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 11:19 pm
Location: Baden, PA, USA

Re: Montour Release

Unread postby jpetersjr » Mon Aug 29, 2016 7:20 pm

I have some cars that would probably look great on the route, such as the 58 Plymouth Fury's.
Jonathan Burton Peters Jr, Big J

System of the retro era assets and the old downtown era.


Website
http://jpetersjr1.wixsite.com/big-j-productions

3D Freeware Scenery Developer Since 2011
User avatar
jpetersjr
 
Posts: 3817
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2011 6:31 pm
Location: Mobile, Alabama, United States,

Re: Montour Release

Unread postby hobieinva » Sat Jun 15, 2019 3:10 pm

Hello everyone - hoping someone still has this thread active and is willing to help out a couple of newbies.

My 13 year old son, a huge railfan, stumbled upon this route recently and we've been trying like mad to get it up and running in Train Simulator. We live in the area of the old Montour RR and my son knows more about the history of the RR than I think might be healthy.

Anyway, he did the majority of the legwork figuring out how to load this route and assemble the assets. We've loaded and double-checked everything, especially assets, but just can't seem to get the actual track to display (other than bridges). Everything else also seems to be there - engines, scenery, etc., and the route works - can run engines, etc.

I've downloaded and run RW Tools and generated a huge list of missing things (mostly 3D Trains scenery), but none of which seem to be track.

I took a screenshot of what we see when we load the route in Train Simulator, but neither of us seem to be smart enough to figure out how to use html to include it in this post.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Mike and Dom
hobieinva
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jun 15, 2019 12:53 pm

Re: Montour Release

Unread postby DanSSG » Sun Jun 16, 2019 11:43 am

*&!welcome!&*

hobieinva wrote: We've loaded and double-checked everything, especially assets, but just can't seem to get the actual track to display (other than bridges).


Do you have ScaleRail installed?

Here is the link where you'll find all the required 3D-TRAINS stuff. To download you first have to create an account at their forum.

http://www.3dtrains.com/forums/index.ph ... downloads/

3D-TRAINS (available at http://www.3dtrains.com) Forum login required.
- Scale Rail Basic
- ATSF & SP ScaleRail
- Scale Road
- Rural Landscapes

hobieinva wrote:I've downloaded and run RW Tools and generated a huge list of missing things (mostly 3D Trains scenery), but none of which seem to be track.


Install the requirements mentioned above and then check again for missing assets.

hobieinva wrote:I took a screenshot of what we see when we load the route in Train Simulator, but neither of us seem to be smart enough to figure out how to use html to include it in this post.


You don't need html to post a screenshot here.
When you write your post, simply scroll down a bit. There you'll find "Upload attachment". Choose your screenshot and click "Add the file". Then click at the position in the text you want to post and click on "Place inline"
DanSSG
 
Posts: 189
Joined: Fri May 11, 2018 5:40 am

Re: Montour Release

Unread postby hobieinva » Sat Jun 22, 2019 10:05 am

Thanks very much for the welcome and response! I do not see the Upload Attachment button and on searching the FAQ, it looks like it has to be a privilege granted to a forum or user by an Admin. I'm guessing I don't have that access, so I'll try to explain what we've downloaded from 3DTrains and where we put it.

I believe we have all of the assets installed from 3D Rail. To be sure, I re-downloaded, "RW_ScaleRail_Freeware.zip", "RW_ScaleRail_Freeware_SP.zip", and "RW_ScaleRail_Freeware_ATSF.zip" and used the .exe in each to install to the drive we run Steam from (S:\SteamLibrary\steamapps\common\RailWorks).

When I check that location, I see a 3DTrains folder and inside there are many others, including ScaleRail. When I dig into the ScaleRail folder, there's a RailNetwork folder that contains the folders, "SR_ATSF", "SR_Default", "SR_SP", and "TrackRules", each with lots of files in them, so I think we've got it where it belongs?

Thanks again for your assistance!

Mike and Dom
hobieinva
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jun 15, 2019 12:53 pm

Re: Montour Release

Unread postby buzz456 » Sat Jun 22, 2019 2:09 pm

If memory serves you need to make three posts before you can post pictures.
Buzz
39 and holding.
"Some people find fault like there's a reward for it."- Zig Ziglar
"If you can dream it you can do it."- Walt Disney
Image
User avatar
buzz456
Site Admin
 
Posts: 16038
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2010 8:30 am
Location: Sycamore, Il

Re: Montour Release

Unread postby artimrj » Sat Jun 22, 2019 2:45 pm

Only 2 posts required for screenshots & PMs.
Bob Artim - Generation X²
I don't have a PHD, I have a DD214... Freedom carries sacrifice

6th Gen i7 6700K @ 4.0 GHz, 16 gig, NVidia GTX 970 4 Gig, 5 TB of Maxtor HDs, 128 Gig SSD, 800 W PSU & Win 10 64 bit
User avatar
artimrj
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4463
Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2010 3:07 pm
Location: Beaver, Pennsylvania

Re: Montour Release

Unread postby Rich_S » Thu Jul 18, 2019 6:28 pm

hobieinva wrote:Thanks very much for the welcome and response! I do not see the Upload Attachment button and on searching the FAQ, it looks like it has to be a privilege granted to a forum or user by an Admin. I'm guessing I don't have that access, so I'll try to explain what we've downloaded from 3DTrains and where we put it.

I believe we have all of the assets installed from 3D Rail. To be sure, I re-downloaded, "RW_ScaleRail_Freeware.zip", "RW_ScaleRail_Freeware_SP.zip", and "RW_ScaleRail_Freeware_ATSF.zip" and used the .exe in each to install to the drive we run Steam from (S:\SteamLibrary\steamapps\common\RailWorks).

When I check that location, I see a 3DTrains folder and inside there are many others, including ScaleRail. When I dig into the ScaleRail folder, there's a RailNetwork folder that contains the folders, "SR_ATSF", "SR_Default", "SR_SP", and "TrackRules", each with lots of files in them, so I think we've got it where it belongs?

Thanks again for your assistance!

Mike and Dom


Hi Mike and Dom,
Sorry I'm not as active on the forums as I once was and just now saw your post. One question, did you uncompress the MTR_V11_wood_ties.rar and / or us-wood-ties-tracks.rar and run the RW_RouteSetup.exe file? If yes, can you post a screen shot of the problem by clinking on the "Upload Attachment" tab below.
Cheers,
Rich S.
User avatar
Rich_S
 
Posts: 708
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 11:19 pm
Location: Baden, PA, USA

Next

Return to Route Design

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest