SRTM data not loading

Discussion about RailWorks route design.

Re: SRTM data not loading

Unread postby BoostedFridge » Tue Oct 06, 2015 1:31 pm

Hack wrote:
BDWorkshop wrote:I guess this takes me back to my original problem then...Why did my converted 1/3 sec arc height files not work? !*don-know!*

Perhaps TS doesn't know what to do with those, as it was designed to use standard SRTM HGT files (never worked for me with converted BIL > HGT). Your best bet is to convert to as few BIL files as possible (or one big seamless piece), and then use ReDem to generate the terrain.


It has to do with Railworks only reading 1 file for each lat/long square. If I recall correctly when you go through the process to convert 1/3 data to .hgt format, multiple files are generated for each terrain square.
SP Siskiyou Line - Scenery WIP
User avatar
BoostedFridge
 
Posts: 1945
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2013 6:39 am
Location: Vancouver, BC

Re: SRTM data not loading

Unread postby BDWorkshop » Tue Oct 06, 2015 1:53 pm

Ok, now I'm starting to understand. Thanks for the details.
The information on Redem seems a bit outdated. Is there a updated tutorial around to look at? I'm not sure if I'm going to go the Redem route, but I would like to see what is all involved in the process.
BDWorkshop
BDWorkshop
 
Posts: 203
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2015 8:18 pm
Location: Pittston, PA

Re: SRTM data not loading

Unread postby BoostedFridge » Tue Oct 06, 2015 3:04 pm

BDWorkshop wrote:Ok, now I'm starting to understand. Thanks for the details.
The information on Redem seems a bit outdated. Is there a updated tutorial around to look at? I'm not sure if I'm going to go the Redem route, but I would like to see what is all involved in the process.


I've been meaning to make up good a tutorial for it. I might get a chance this weekend. There are separate threads and tutorials for the file process, and the qgis merging, but none for the whole process including the ReDem portion.
SP Siskiyou Line - Scenery WIP
User avatar
BoostedFridge
 
Posts: 1945
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2013 6:39 am
Location: Vancouver, BC

Re: SRTM data not loading

Unread postby BDWorkshop » Tue Oct 06, 2015 4:34 pm

BoostedFridge wrote:I've been meaning to make up good a tutorial for it. I might get a chance this weekend. There are separate threads and tutorials for the file process, and the qgis merging, but none for the whole process including the ReDem portion.


If you make it...I will read it. *!!wink!!*

I guess that's a problem with a simulator program that is updated every year. The information changes too much and too fast. Sometimes it's hard to keep up with all the latest info. !*hp*!
BDWorkshop
BDWorkshop
 
Posts: 203
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2015 8:18 pm
Location: Pittston, PA

Re: SRTM data not loading

Unread postby BDWorkshop » Sun Oct 11, 2015 8:08 pm

BoostedFridge wrote:I've been meaning to make up good a tutorial for it. I might get a chance this weekend. There are separate threads and tutorials for the file process, and the qgis merging, but none for the whole process including the ReDem portion.


Did ya make it? Did ya make it? I'm planning on getting Redem in the next few days and I'm looking for all information about it. An updated tutorial would really do the trick. I've spent the day searching these forums for all info regarding the Redem process...it's spotty at best.

I understand the first steps in route creation involves Google Earth...which I have. Can anybody guide me on the pre-Redem process?
BDWorkshop
BDWorkshop
 
Posts: 203
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2015 8:18 pm
Location: Pittston, PA

Re: SRTM data not loading

Unread postby BoostedFridge » Mon Oct 12, 2015 1:47 am

BDWorkshop wrote:
BoostedFridge wrote:I've been meaning to make up good a tutorial for it. I might get a chance this weekend. There are separate threads and tutorials for the file process, and the qgis merging, but none for the whole process including the ReDem portion.


Did ya make it? Did ya make it? I'm planning on getting Redem in the next few days and I'm looking for all information about it. An updated tutorial would really do the trick. I've spent the day searching these forums for all info regarding the Redem process...it's spotty at best.

I understand the first steps in route creation involves Google Earth...which I have. Can anybody guide me on the pre-Redem process?


I haven't started yet. I've been finishing off a scenario series first. I have downloaded the DEM data for the route I'll generate for the tutorial though.

If you wanted to tuck in though, I would recommend downloading the second tutorial by BNSFsubdivision.

https://dl-web.dropbox.com/get/TS/Searc ... 3gMc5vK2mg

Then either download the Arcgis program (trial versions available, otherwise payware) or QGIS (freeware). There is a thread in the route building section about using qgis in place of Arcgis for this process.
SP Siskiyou Line - Scenery WIP
User avatar
BoostedFridge
 
Posts: 1945
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2013 6:39 am
Location: Vancouver, BC

Re: SRTM data not loading

Unread postby BDWorkshop » Mon Oct 12, 2015 11:40 am

BoostedFridge wrote:I haven't started yet. I've been finishing off a scenario series first. I have downloaded the DEM data for the route I'll generate for the tutorial though.

If you wanted to tuck in though, I would recommend downloading the second tutorial by BNSFsubdivision.

https://dl-web.dropbox.com/get/TS/Searc ... 3gMc5vK2mg

Then either download the Arcgis program (trial versions available, otherwise payware) or QGIS (freeware). There is a thread in the route building section about using qgis in place of Arcgis for this process.


The link you posted doesn't work for some reason. Is there any other place I can download the PDF?
BDWorkshop
BDWorkshop
 
Posts: 203
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2015 8:18 pm
Location: Pittston, PA

Re: SRTM data not loading

Unread postby BoostedFridge » Mon Oct 12, 2015 12:17 pm

BDWorkshop wrote:
BoostedFridge wrote:I haven't started yet. I've been finishing off a scenario series first. I have downloaded the DEM data for the route I'll generate for the tutorial though.

If you wanted to tuck in though, I would recommend downloading the second tutorial by BNSFsubdivision.

https://dl-web.dropbox.com/get/TS/Searc ... 3gMc5vK2mg

Then either download the Arcgis program (trial versions available, otherwise payware) or QGIS (freeware). There is a thread in the route building section about using qgis in place of Arcgis for this process.


The link you posted doesn't work for some reason. Is there any other place I can download the PDF?


I posted the link from my phone, and for some reason it is abbreviation the URL. Search for it here on RWA, that's where I got it from. It was written and originally posted by 'bnsfsubdivision'
SP Siskiyou Line - Scenery WIP
User avatar
BoostedFridge
 
Posts: 1945
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2013 6:39 am
Location: Vancouver, BC

Re: SRTM data not loading

Unread postby bnsfsubdivision » Mon Oct 12, 2015 12:28 pm

BoostedFridge wrote:
BDWorkshop wrote:
BoostedFridge wrote:I haven't started yet. I've been finishing off a scenario series first. I have downloaded the DEM data for the route I'll generate for the tutorial though.

If you wanted to tuck in though, I would recommend downloading the second tutorial by BNSFsubdivision.

https://dl-web.dropbox.com/get/TS/Searc ... 3gMc5vK2mg

Then either download the Arcgis program (trial versions available, otherwise payware) or QGIS (freeware). There is a thread in the route building section about using qgis in place of Arcgis for this process.


The link you posted doesn't work for some reason. Is there any other place I can download the PDF?


I posted the link from my phone, and for some reason it is abbreviation the URL. Search for it here on RWA, that's where I got it from. It was written and originally posted by 'bnsfsubdivision'

I'm not sure what happened to the link but here's a new one: https://www.dropbox.com/s/aclpy3cd2xhja ... s.pdf?dl=0
Kevin Schulz
Artist - Searchlight Simulations
User avatar
bnsfsubdivision
Forum Mod
 
Posts: 873
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 5:27 am

Re: SRTM data not loading

Unread postby BDWorkshop » Mon Oct 12, 2015 12:57 pm

bnsfsubdivision wrote:I'm not sure what happened to the link but here's a new one: https://www.dropbox.com/s/aclpy3cd2xhja ... s.pdf?dl=0


Yes, this is the tutorial I used first. I went through the process fine, but the finished 1/3 arc height files wouldn't show up in the game.
BDWorkshop
BDWorkshop
 
Posts: 203
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2015 8:18 pm
Location: Pittston, PA

Re: SRTM data not loading

Unread postby BoostedFridge » Mon Oct 12, 2015 6:00 pm

BDWorkshop wrote:
bnsfsubdivision wrote:I'm not sure what happened to the link but here's a new one: https://www.dropbox.com/s/aclpy3cd2xhja ... s.pdf?dl=0


Yes, this is the tutorial I used first. I went through the process fine, but the finished 1/3 arc height files wouldn't show up in the game.


That is the 'Part 1' Tutorial, which I have found only works with 1 arc/second data ... The one I am referring to is the 'Part 2' (link below)

https://www.dropbox.com/s/ezjqjprhk7tku ... 2.pdf?dl=0

bnsfsubdivision: Could you upload both of these to the file library at RWA? I've been 'hosting' them in my dropbox, and they really should be up in the library here.
SP Siskiyou Line - Scenery WIP
User avatar
BoostedFridge
 
Posts: 1945
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2013 6:39 am
Location: Vancouver, BC

Re: SRTM data not loading

Unread postby BDWorkshop » Mon Oct 12, 2015 6:07 pm

I got it working! !*YAAA*! I followed the tutorial with the exception of the export setting of the BILxSRTM program. I set it to 1 arc instead of 1/3 arc. I took a quick look at the terrain and it does seem a lot better then the default height maps I was using. No need for Redem now. The 90 mile route I added was just two height files.

Edit: I did download the tutorial you just posted...for future use.
BDWorkshop
BDWorkshop
 
Posts: 203
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2015 8:18 pm
Location: Pittston, PA

Re: SRTM data not loading

Unread postby bnsfsubdivision » Tue Oct 13, 2015 1:18 am

BoostedFridge wrote:
BDWorkshop wrote:
bnsfsubdivision wrote:I'm not sure what happened to the link but here's a new one: https://www.dropbox.com/s/aclpy3cd2xhja ... s.pdf?dl=0


Yes, this is the tutorial I used first. I went through the process fine, but the finished 1/3 arc height files wouldn't show up in the game.


That is the 'Part 1' Tutorial, which I have found only works with 1 arc/second data ... The one I am referring to is the 'Part 2' (link below)

https://www.dropbox.com/s/ezjqjprhk7tku ... 2.pdf?dl=0

bnsfsubdivision: Could you upload both of these to the file library at RWA? I've been 'hosting' them in my dropbox, and they really should be up in the library here.

I was going to write up a complete new one which would cover essentially everything from merging to importing, ReDem etc. just had no time lately.
Kevin Schulz
Artist - Searchlight Simulations
User avatar
bnsfsubdivision
Forum Mod
 
Posts: 873
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 5:27 am

Re: SRTM data not loading

Unread postby BDWorkshop » Tue Oct 13, 2015 5:50 pm

Ok, it looks like I hit my first snag in building my route. !*hp*!
Originally the route was made from 2 1/3 DEMs. I found that at the most northern part of the route I need a sliver of terrain from a 3 DEM. I download the DEM and went through the process of converting it into a .bil file in Microdem. The then converted it over to the height files with the BILxSRTM converter. The newly created height file was the same file size as the other two. When I tried to add terrain from that new height file, Railworks crashed and locked up my computer. I try several times to remake the height file but I get the same results.

The only difference between the 2 old DEMs and the newer added DEM is that the newer one is from 2015, while the older DEMs are from 2013. When I take the new height file out of the DEM directory, there are no crashes.

Any ideas on what could be crashing the game?
BDWorkshop
BDWorkshop
 
Posts: 203
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2015 8:18 pm
Location: Pittston, PA

Re: SRTM data not loading

Unread postby BoostedFridge » Tue Oct 13, 2015 6:11 pm

BDWorkshop wrote:Ok, it looks like I hit my first snag in building my route. !*hp*!
Originally the route was made from 2 1/3 DEMs. I found that at the most northern part of the route I need a sliver of terrain from a 3 DEM. I download the DEM and went through the process of converting it into a .bil file in Microdem. The then converted it over to the height files with the BILxSRTM converter. The newly created height file was the same file size as the other two. When I tried to add terrain from that new height file, Railworks crashed and locked up my computer. I try several times to remake the height file but I get the same results.

The only difference between the 2 old DEMs and the newer added DEM is that the newer one is from 2015, while the older DEMs are from 2013. When I take the new height file out of the DEM directory, there are no crashes.

Any ideas on what could be crashing the game?



What was the source for the DEM files?
SP Siskiyou Line - Scenery WIP
User avatar
BoostedFridge
 
Posts: 1945
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2013 6:39 am
Location: Vancouver, BC

PreviousNext

Return to Route Design

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests