Fix for switch+track draw distance + reduce overall weather brightness

Fix for switch+track draw distance + reduce overall weather brightness

Unread postby imnew » Sat Mar 31, 2018 5:08 am

.
.
This might be old news for those who frequent the steam forums but for those who dont, here are two small improvements that deal with draw distance on switches/ties and weather brightness.

1. Fix the draw distance on switches and track detail so they dont "pop up" two meters in front of your view point. Sample pics included over at steam forums , Credits go to Staalby

Original post: http://steamcommunity.com/app/530070/di ... 044/?ctp=2

Navigate to the following folder

C:\Users\*USERNAME*\Documents\My Games\TS2Prototype\Saved\Config\WindowsNoEditor

There is a config file called Engine.ini Open it with notepad and at the end of the lines add:

[/script/engine.renderersettings]
r.ViewDistanceScale=1

Default setting is 1. I have found that 15 is a good setting on my system.

2. Fix the overall world brightness. Sample pics included over at steam forums , Credits go to nickhawk

Original post: http://steamcommunity.com/app/530070/di ... 000848675/

Add the following in the engine.ini

[/script/engine.renderersettings]
r.EyeAdaptationQuality=0

This is what my ini file looks like with both the fixes applied.
.
ini.JPG
ini.JPG (111.64 KiB) Viewed 970 times
Intel Core I7-7770K, ZOTAC GTX 1080 Ti AMP
Extreme, ASUS ROG Strix Z270H, 16 GB HyperX Fury DDR4, Samsung 850 EVO 500GB, Corsair Force MP500 240GB M.2, 34" Ultra Wide Samsung Monitor, Oculus Rift DK2, HTC Vive and Oculus Rift CV1, Pimax 8K ETA Q3 2018.
User avatar
imnew
 
Posts: 2406
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2009 1:41 pm

Re: Fix for switch+track draw distance + reduce overall weather brightness

Unread postby dejoh » Sat Mar 31, 2018 8:35 am

Thanks Imnew. This fix gets the sounds very acceptable. I actually have to turn the sounds down.
Seen quite a few say sound is low this is meant to help for temp fix until they sort it going to try this.

There is a temporary fix for the quiet sound. You can edit an .ini file to increase it.

Navigate to the folder
<mydocuments>\My Games\TS2Prototype\Saved\Config\WindowsNoEditor
and open the file
GameUserSettings.ini

I have my settings as follows:

MasterSoundVolume=3.500000
MusicSoundVolume=1.500000
SFXSoundVolume=3.500000
AmbienceSoundVolume=2.500000
DialogueSoundVolume=1.500000
ExternalAlertVolume=1.500000
MenuSFXVolume=1.000000

You can play around with these to find something that suits you.
User avatar
dejoh
 
Posts: 1355
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 5:08 pm
Location: So. Chicago Heights, Il.

Re: Fix for switch+track draw distance + reduce overall weather brightness

Unread postby hminky » Sat Mar 31, 2018 8:39 am

If all those problems are that simple, DTG says they are working on them, I wonder if they really care.

And everyone thinks that DTG will make an editor, right!

Harold
hminky
 
Posts: 370
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 11:50 am

Re: Fix for switch+track draw distance + reduce overall weather brightness

Unread postby imnew » Sat Mar 31, 2018 10:45 am

Thanks dejoh. Will test your settings tonight. The community finds a way. !!*ok*!!
Intel Core I7-7770K, ZOTAC GTX 1080 Ti AMP
Extreme, ASUS ROG Strix Z270H, 16 GB HyperX Fury DDR4, Samsung 850 EVO 500GB, Corsair Force MP500 240GB M.2, 34" Ultra Wide Samsung Monitor, Oculus Rift DK2, HTC Vive and Oculus Rift CV1, Pimax 8K ETA Q3 2018.
User avatar
imnew
 
Posts: 2406
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2009 1:41 pm

Re: Fix for switch+track draw distance + reduce overall weather brightness

Unread postby Drakoz » Wed Apr 04, 2018 3:53 pm

Thanks for this summary. Having the best textures load mere feet before the engine is frustrating.

I assume DTG is not changing these settings because they are concerned about frame rate issues for lower end PCs, which is probably a valid concern. But for those of us with higher end machines, we should be able to crank this stuff up without having to edit text files. I have a GTX1080, though a 5 year old MB/CPU, and running 3 monitors and I easily get 40-60 FPS (vsync enabled, settings at max or Ultra, 5760x1200). If I ran a single monitor, it would be much better. This is since the NEC:NY update which improved FPS as well as making it possible to run 3 monitors without having to mess with editing FOV settings in text files. Previously, I couldn't do 3 monitors due to the FOV being way off, and the FPS was worse on a single monitor than what I now get on 3 monitors.
Drakoz
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2018 11:39 pm
Location: San Jose, CA, USA


Return to TSW General Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests