TSW anyone?

Re: TSW anyone?

Unread postby JerryC » Thu Mar 16, 2017 4:23 pm

ErikGorbiHamilton wrote:
JerryC wrote:No Asset or Blueprint Editor. Fail !*not-ok*!

Stated that it will be implemented on a later date MULTIPLE TIMES.


JerryC wrote:No way to get third party products into the game. Fail !*not-ok*!

There is no way to get third party products because i doubt anyone has made them yet for TSW. Are you referring to rail driver?



JerryC wrote:All content files are packed in .PAK format, which cannot be opened via conventional methods. Fail. !*not-ok*!

The game looks to be incomplete. Fail !*not-ok*!

Have no inputs on that. I hate it how they opted for a PAK format instead of a conventional AP file.



JerryC wrote:Having no frame rate issues, don't know what it is but the game is running smoothly. !!*ok*!! (Core i7 4970, 32GB RAM, Samsung 950EVO SSD, GeForce GTX 970 STRIX.


That seems nice atleast!

!*cheers*!


1. Well state it again, and this time give us an ETA on the arrival of the tools. It has been two years, some information on making assets and routes for this version should have been forthcoming by now.

2. No, i'm referring to putting assets such as rolling stock into TSW. I've been playing with Unreal for a while now, and I know it is not to much of a stretch to convert any locomotive that can be exported as an FBX file to the Unreal format. I have three locomotives that could start changing over right now if there were more information on what it would take to get them into the game.

3. Incomplete as in the first two items above. There are several utilities out there that will allow you to view the files inside of the .pak content file, but the format is so new, there is no UnPaker available as of yet that will allow extraction of those files. And yes, I have tried unPakers for other games, such as DragonUnpaker.

4. I'm running max settings now in Windowed mode - I don't do fullscreen because i've got other stuff going on at the same time - and it seems to be pretty smooth to me. I'm even running a Bake operation in Blender and TSW is rolling along quite well.
The comments and opinions expressed here are the sole responsibility of the individual who made them. Any resemblance to comments intelligent or ignernt is purely coincidental.

http://vrailcreations.net

https://www.facebook.com/Virtual-Rail-C ... 1228324592
JerryC
 
Posts: 589
Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2014 9:13 am

Re: TSW anyone?

Unread postby gwgardner » Thu Mar 16, 2017 4:34 pm

Funny thread. I have nothing but praise for it so far. I've done the first two tutorials. Great fun. Incredible graphics. Smooth operation. I couldn't be happier.

I7 with Nvidia 1060.
gwgardner
 
Posts: 587
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 2:34 pm

Re: TSW anyone?

Unread postby cvo2010 » Thu Mar 16, 2017 4:52 pm

gwgardner wrote:Funny thread. I have nothing but praise for it so far. I've done the first two tutorials. Great fun. Incredible graphics. Smooth operation. I couldn't be happier.

I7 with Nvidia 1060.


I'm glad you like it, I just got a refund.

Even with a trio of Pascal based Titan X running in SLI without any problems, the visuals looked worse than anything I've managed to catch in a screenshot in all versions of Railworks and beyond.

Regards Claus
cvo2010
 
Posts: 384
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 5:22 am
Location: Denmark

Re: TSW anyone?

Unread postby bpetit » Thu Mar 16, 2017 5:02 pm

Wait 3 GTX Titans?
"If you really needed a diesel locomotive right away, then go ahead and order a ALCO. But if you could wait for real quality, then go for an EMD or a GE".


My Youtube Channel (Railfanning and Train Simulator 2016)
http://www.youtube.com/user/3985gtasa
User avatar
bpetit
 
Posts: 2198
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2010 9:44 pm
Location: New Orleans, Louisiana

Re: TSW anyone?

Unread postby FHRob » Thu Mar 16, 2017 5:05 pm

cvo2010 wrote:
gwgardner wrote:Funny thread. I have nothing but praise for it so far. I've done the first two tutorials. Great fun. Incredible graphics. Smooth operation. I couldn't be happier.

I7 with Nvidia 1060.


I'm glad you like it, I just got a refund.

Even with a trio of Pascal based Titan X running in SLI without any problems, the visuals looked worse than anything I've managed to catch in a screenshot in all versions of Railworks and beyond.

Regards Claus


Claus:

That's one awesome setup.

Safe to say back to the drawing board for TSW.

Rob :D
FHRob
 
Posts: 363
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2014 11:06 am

Re: TSW anyone?

Unread postby Boldri » Thu Mar 16, 2017 5:13 pm

3x Titan and small Acme's nuclear plant, just add water.... *!greengrin!*

It's getting hot around TSW's release and I have been hit by cable modem failure yesterday, can't try it right now, doh **!!bang!!**
Beta was around 20 fps, so I hope it will be a bit better now.
User avatar
Boldri
 
Posts: 72
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 9:34 am
Location: Czech Republic

Re: TSW anyone?

Unread postby NorthernWarrior » Thu Mar 16, 2017 5:28 pm

Has potential, lots to learn, a few issues but reasonably pleased. No refund here. (More to follow tomorrow as bedtime here in UK).
Vern
User avatar
NorthernWarrior
 
Posts: 201
Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2013 8:47 am

Re: TSW anyone?

Unread postby cvo2010 » Thu Mar 16, 2017 5:31 pm

Well, after all TSW is just a game, not a matter of life or dead ? *!!wink!!* .

I'm just a little disappointed with the fact, that even using 4K, 5K or 8K resolutions with all different toxic settings, didn't improve the overall look of the game much.
I hoped, that TSW would be the end of shimmering, blurriness and bad optimized anti-aliasing in DGT's trainsim.
But it might improve, and then I will try again.

Regards Claus
cvo2010
 
Posts: 384
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 5:22 am
Location: Denmark

Re: TSW anyone?

Unread postby g_nash » Thu Mar 16, 2017 5:31 pm

JerryC wrote:
1. Well state it again, and this time give us an ETA on the arrival of the tools. It has been two years, some information on making assets and routes for this version should have been forthcoming by now.

2. No, i'm referring to putting assets such as rolling stock into TSW. I've been playing with Unreal for a while now, and I know it is not to much of a stretch to convert any locomotive that can be exported as an FBX file to the Unreal format. I have three locomotives that could start changing over right now if there were more information on what it would take to get them into the game.


Routes and Stock ( no doubt all stock will use their SimuGraph ) will need a guide of some sort. For everything else the info is all ready out there.

If you've got the UE4 editor installed then look to the wiki. Also take a read of this from Matt .. http://forums.uktrainsim.com/viewtopic.php?f=386&t=146027&start=30#p1806500 where he offers good advice. If you want to get the best out of the engine then Quixel and the Substance packages are what you need. Both cost $$$, but that's the way the ball bounces and there's no shortage of tutorials/workflow breakdowns for both on youtube.

Personally I don't expect DTG to waste their time re-inventing the wheel when it comes to explanations on getting scenery items into [and] setting up materials in the editor....opinions on this will no doubt vary.

**!!2cents!!**
g_nash
 
Posts: 459
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2009 11:43 pm

Re: TSW anyone?

Unread postby trev123 » Thu Mar 16, 2017 5:33 pm

I posted this in another thread here. Game won't load past the Microsoft C + + screen. Left it like that for 15 minutes, nothing.

As for people asking for refunds etc, this happens for all new game releases, people cannot wait for the fixes. When I get mine going and it doesn't perform, I well just leave it on my PC and go back and play TS2017 until the fixes come out.
Intel i5-2500K 3.3GHz Quad Core, Asus P8Z 68-V LE MB, Asus GTX 960 Strix 2GB OC graphics card, Windows 10 Home 64 bit, 8gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3 ram, Viewsonic VX2452 LED 1080P HD Monitor, Seagate Barracuda 1 TB 64MB Sata3 HD, Corsair 650W PSU. Gamer Since 1985
User avatar
trev123
 
Posts: 1328
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 9:40 pm
Location: Home Of The Americas Cup

Re: TSW anyone?

Unread postby cvo2010 » Thu Mar 16, 2017 5:48 pm

trev123 wrote:I posted this in another thread here. Game won't load past the Microsoft C + + screen. Left it like that for 15 minutes, nothing.

As for people asking for refunds etc, this happens for all new game releases, people cannot wait for the fixes. When I get mine going and it doesn't perform, I well just leave it on my PC and go back and play TS2017 until the fixes come out.


For how long have we been waiting for various fixes to TSXXXX ?.
In the next Steam sale, when everything has been fixed, I will buy it at half price. who's fooling who ?.
cvo2010
 
Posts: 384
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 5:22 am
Location: Denmark

Re: TSW anyone?

Unread postby Hack » Thu Mar 16, 2017 6:45 pm

I knew editors were not to be included, but I was still disappointed that there are only 7 scenarios and no way to create more - even if only to smoke up and down the hill in freeroam fashion. The other goofy thing is that you cannot remap the keys, which the first time since the days of DOS that I've seen a game that was missing that feature. *!rolleyes!*

No complaints about performance. With all settings maxed it looks great and absolutely screams on my new i7-7700 + GTX 1070. :D
Cheers!
Marc - 3DTrains

Image
User avatar
Hack
Forum Mod
 
Posts: 2758
Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2009 1:17 am
Location: Another Planet

Re: TSW anyone?

Unread postby buzz456 » Thu Mar 16, 2017 7:30 pm

Hack wrote:I knew editors were not to be included, but I was still disappointed that there are only 7 scenarios and no way to create more - even if only to smoke up and down the hill in freeroam fashion. The other goofy thing is that you cannot remap the keys, which the first time since the days of DOS that I've seen a game that was missing that feature. *!rolleyes!*

No complaints about performance. With all settings maxed it looks great and absolutely screams on my new i7-7700 + GTX 1070. :D

So get back to working on the Loop. !*roll-laugh*! !*roll-laugh*!
Buzz
39 and holding.
"Some people find fault like there's a reward for it."- Zig Ziglar
"If you can dream it you can do it."- Walt Disney
Image
User avatar
buzz456
Site Admin
 
Posts: 14134
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2010 8:30 am
Location: Sycamore, Il

Re: TSW anyone?

Unread postby bpetit » Thu Mar 16, 2017 7:50 pm

GPU Maxed, CPU 80 percent for me.

Capture.JPG
Capture.JPG (58.13 KiB) Viewed 378 times
"If you really needed a diesel locomotive right away, then go ahead and order a ALCO. But if you could wait for real quality, then go for an EMD or a GE".


My Youtube Channel (Railfanning and Train Simulator 2016)
http://www.youtube.com/user/3985gtasa
User avatar
bpetit
 
Posts: 2198
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2010 9:44 pm
Location: New Orleans, Louisiana

Re: TSW anyone?

Unread postby AmericanSteam » Thu Mar 16, 2017 8:33 pm

Imho, the game works well. FRs for me have been similar to others 30-60+, 30 in dense areas and 60 being more open areas. The game play was smooth without stutters. A lot of busywork getting in, out and moving switches, and for me it is a diversion from TS2017 and fun. Those who like to drive and get a bit more immersive in their games this is your venue. Noted there are those on this forum that are more in the artistic bent and this simulator would cramp your style. I know you guys want to get under the hood and pick it apart to see what makes it tick. Eventually the needed source codes will be available and you guys will be sawing and hammering into the we hours of the morning adapting old and creating new assets for TSW. The models look great as well as the scenery, the sounds leave a lot to be desired, as do all the DTG sounds, ( where is MLWAudio when you need them) but these to will be reworked in time, if not by DTG then by you tinkering bunch of wahoos. !!*ok*!!
All in all $32.00 ain't bad for this. I have spent more on bad coffee, burnt bacon and half cooked pancakes. Put it in perspective. It will get better. Return it if you wish and buy it at the Christmas sale. **!!2cents!!**
Intel i7 6700K @ 4.4GHz, ASUS Z170 Pro Gaming MB, 16 GB DDR4 @ 3200, ASUS GTX 1060 6GB, Corsair CX850M PSU, XSPC D5 Vario cooling pump, Windows 10 Pro 64 Version 1709, running TSW and Railworks on a Samsung 960 EVO M.2 SSD, Dual Monitors 1920 x 1080.
User avatar
AmericanSteam
 
Posts: 330
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2015 9:54 am
Location: Nevada City California

PreviousNext

Return to TSW General Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests