Putting AI Trains into a Siding

This forum is for the latest version of Train Simulator TS 2017

Putting AI Trains into a Siding

Unread postby steampower2001 » Mon Mar 13, 2017 5:26 pm

Hi all,

I am new to the forum here but I have been a veteran of Railworks for a while. I do have a question though. I was creating a free roam scenario for a route I have been working on. The route is single tracked with sidings every five to ten miles or so. I had my train (the player train) running northbound and I set an AI train running southbound about twenty miles north of the player train. What I wanted to do was have the player train get into a siding and have the AI train pass me, or vice versa. I realized I can't do this because the AI train automatically locks all switches in its path. I want to accomplish this without going into the scenario editor and setting it so that the AI train knows to go into the siding to begin with. Basically I want to play the role of the dispatcher, if you will, and line the switches as each train gets closer to set up a meet in the sidings.

If anyone has any thought on this and can help me, that would be great!

-Jake
steampower2001
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 9:29 pm

Re: Putting AI Trains into a Siding

Unread postby NYWhiskey » Mon Mar 13, 2017 10:48 pm

You'll have to set a marker in the scenario editor for the path you want the AI to take. The AI dispatcher isn't that smart.

That's the problem with creating regular scenarios. You have to get the timing down perfect for it to appear real. You'll have to test and set your AI at the appropriate distance to make the meet.
User avatar
NYWhiskey
 
Posts: 475
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2010 6:27 pm
Location: Bronx, NY

Re: Putting AI Trains into a Siding

Unread postby RudolfJan » Fri Apr 14, 2017 10:21 am

You give the AI train a lower priority than the player train. Then make sure it blocks the path for the player train. At the crossing, the player train will wait for the AI train to arrive and then the signal will clear. It is Always better to make AI trains disappear into a portal. Also make sure to let AI trains only run where you can actually see them.
Rudolf

http://www.hollandhiking.nl (Site in English about hiking and biking in the Netherlands)
RudolfJan
 
Posts: 95
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2009 2:36 pm
Location: Netherlands


Return to TS2017

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest