Train Simulator 2019 is available now

Discussion of TS 2019

Re: Train Simulator 2019 is available now

Unread postby buzz456 » Thu Oct 11, 2018 6:45 pm

GE is working here. Both versions. It would sure be nice if we could unravel this mystery.
Buzz
39 and holding.
"Some people find fault like there's a reward for it."- Zig Ziglar
"If you can dream it you can do it."- Walt Disney
Image
User avatar
buzz456
Site Admin
 
Posts: 15081
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2010 8:30 am
Location: Sycamore, Il

Re: Train Simulator 2019 is available now

Unread postby glenn68 » Thu Oct 11, 2018 7:53 pm

All is good here. I went into the program folder and set a shortcut for both versions to my desk top.
User avatar
glenn68
 
Posts: 944
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2010 1:21 pm

Re: Train Simulator 2019 is available now

Unread postby Brickrail782 » Thu Oct 11, 2018 10:48 pm

Been messing around in the 64-bit version and can' help but notice that (at least on my computer) it doesn't seem to run that much better that the 32-bit version. Most routes still take several minutes to load and there are massive frame rate drops when loading in new terrain/scenery.
User avatar
Brickrail782
 
Posts: 438
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2017 6:47 am
Location: Kansas City, KS

Re: Train Simulator 2019 is available now

Unread postby AmericanSteam » Thu Oct 11, 2018 11:06 pm

Maybe wishful thinking on my part but 64 bit runs smoother and frame rates are a bit better with much less stuttering on the most dense routes. !!*ok*!!
Intel i7 6700K @ 4.4GHz, ASUS Z170 Pro Gaming MB, 16 GB DDR4 @ 3200, ASUS GTX 1060 6GB, Corsair CX850M PSU, XSPC D5 Vario cooling pump, running TSW and Railworks on a Samsung 960 EVO M.2 SSD, Dual Monitors 1920 x 1080.
User avatar
AmericanSteam
 
Posts: 497
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2015 9:54 am
Location: Grass Valley, California

Re: Train Simulator 2019 is available now

Unread postby BoostedFridge » Fri Oct 12, 2018 4:26 am

Brickrail782 wrote:Been messing around in the 64-bit version and can' help but notice that (at least on my computer) it doesn't seem to run that much better that the 32-bit version. Most routes still take several minutes to load and there are massive frame rate drops when loading in new terrain/scenery


As has been mentioned in all of the DTG releases leading up to release, you WILL NOT see any appreciable performance gain in going to the 64 bit version.

IF your computer is running a 64bit version of Windows 7 SP1 or newer AND has a 64 bit processor AND more than 6GB of RAM, then you can actually take advantage of its benefits. If it doesnt, you are better off running the 32 bit version.

https://live.dovetailgames.com/live/train-simulator/articles/article/the-dawn-of-a-new-era
SP Siskiyou Line - Scenery WIP
User avatar
BoostedFridge
 
Posts: 1858
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2013 6:39 am
Location: Vancouver, BC

Re: Train Simulator 2019 is available now

Unread postby ChrisOnline » Fri Oct 12, 2018 8:44 am

No, that's not the file. The file is Setup_Audio.bat. Those instructions above were revised to include a link to the file, as DTG discovered that it was missing from the original download.

HOWEVER the UKTS forum seems to be coming to the conclusion that running the .bat file isn't necessary UNLESS you find you have audio problems (which is what the .bat file is about)

I found that INITIALLY running the 64-bit by going to the Steam Library, right click on Train Simulator, and run in 64-bit, works, and then everything works fine afterwards. The desktop link can be edited to change the Properties link to Railworks64.exe
ChrisOnline
 
Posts: 262
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 11:47 am

Re: Train Simulator 2019 is available now

Unread postby dgallina » Fri Oct 12, 2018 9:15 am

I had to reinstall ms visual c++ 2010 sp1 32 and 64 bit to resolve the DLL crashes noted above. Also downloaded and ran the .bat file and now game running fine. Haven’t had a chance to run many routes, but happy the game can use more ram rather than crashing when heavily loaded.

Diego
dgallina
 
Posts: 332
Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2013 11:24 am

Re: Train Simulator 2019 is available now

Unread postby BoostedFridge » Fri Oct 12, 2018 10:23 am

dgallina wrote:I had to reinstall ms visual c++ 2010 sp1 32 and 64 bit to resolve the DLL crashes noted above. Also downloaded and ran the .bat file and now game running fine. Haven’t had a chance to run many routes, but happy the game can use more ram rather than crashing when heavily loaded.

Diego


Thanks for sharing that Diego. What prompted you to choose that file to download to fix the problem.
SP Siskiyou Line - Scenery WIP
User avatar
BoostedFridge
 
Posts: 1858
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2013 6:39 am
Location: Vancouver, BC

Re: Train Simulator 2019 is available now

Unread postby _o_OOOO_oo-Kanawha » Fri Oct 12, 2018 11:43 am

To end the misery of that one computer that refuses to start TS19x64, I've decided to give the OS a refresh.
By installing a fresh Windows 10, I probably get rid of the old registry, mismatched .dll's and drivers that result from starting with Windows 7 five years ago and upgrading to W10.
That is apart from installing and de-installing lots of programs.

I've always kept Steam and most of my larger games on other partitions and drives from C:, so the refresh process will leave these untouched.
Edwin "Kanawha"
Image
The Chessie, the train that never was ... (6000 hp Baldwin-Westinghouse steam turbine electric)
User avatar
_o_OOOO_oo-Kanawha
 
Posts: 2757
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2011 2:12 pm

Re: Train Simulator 2019 is available now

Unread postby dgallina » Fri Oct 12, 2018 6:53 pm

BoostedFridge wrote:What prompted you to choose that file to download to fix the problem.

Some Google searches suggested that the necessary MSVCP100.DLL and MSVCR100.DLL files are supplied by Visual C++ 2010. Since SP1 is the latest version and TS2019 is now optional 64-bit, I figured I might as well install both the 32-bit and 64-bit versions.

diego
dgallina
 
Posts: 332
Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2013 11:24 am

Re: Train Simulator 2019 is available now

Unread postby trev123 » Sat Oct 13, 2018 3:47 am

64 bit is way better than the 32 bit version. I can now run the Morris Town scenario which I couldn't on 32 bit. See my previous post on this. These are the recommended requirements to run the 64 bit version.

Our recommended requirements for 64-bit Train Simulator 2019 are:

Operating System: 64-bit Edition of Windows 7 Service Pack 1, 8.1 or 10 Required (Other OS versions and types are not supported)
Processor: Intel Core-i5 4690 3.50 GHz Quad Core or AMD Ryzen 7 1700 3.80 GHz Octa Core or Better
Memory: 16 GB RAM or Better
Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970 or AMD Radeon RX 480 with 4 GB Dedicated VRAM or Better
DirectX: 9.0c
Network: Broadband Connection (May incur additional costs for use)
Storage: High-Performance SSD Recommended with 40 GB or more available space (Additional Add-Ons will require more)
Sound Card: DirectX Compatible Audio Device
Additional Notes: Requires mouse and keyboard or Xbox Controller. Laptop, Notebook, Mobile or Low Power versions of the above specifications (including Intel or Integrated Graphics) may work but are not supported. Updates to Chipset, Graphics and Audio Device Drivers may be required. For information relating to recommended specifications for Train Simulator 64-bit, please refer to the Train Simulator 2019 User Guide.
Intel i5-2500K 3.3GHz Quad Core, Asus P8Z 68-V LE MB, Asus GTX 960 Strix 2GB OC graphics card, Windows 10 Home 64 bit, 16gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3 ram, Viewsonic VX2452 LED 1080P HD Monitor, Seagate Barracuda 1 TB 64MB Sata3 HD, Seagate Firecuda 2TB HD, Corsair 650W PSU. Gamer Since 1985
User avatar
trev123
 
Posts: 1430
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 9:40 pm
Location: Home Of The Americas Cup

Re: Train Simulator 2019 is available now

Unread postby _o_OOOO_oo-Kanawha » Sat Oct 13, 2018 1:14 pm

After the refresh, the game seems to be alright now in both x32 and x64.
It still crashes on the scenario compilation occasionally, and I have the impression the new error reporting mechanism freezes the screen, needing a logout to clear the startup screen.

I have noticed no improvement yet in 64 bits, on 3.5 GHz i5 16 GB with 980TI, which is only a decent midrange spec in TS terms.
Edwin "Kanawha"
Image
The Chessie, the train that never was ... (6000 hp Baldwin-Westinghouse steam turbine electric)
User avatar
_o_OOOO_oo-Kanawha
 
Posts: 2757
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2011 2:12 pm

Re: Train Simulator 2019 is available now

Unread postby BoostedFridge » Sat Oct 13, 2018 2:20 pm

_o_OOOO_oo-Kanawha wrote:I have noticed no improvement yet in 64 bits, on 3.5 GHz i5 16 GB with 980TI, which is only a decent midrange spec in TS terms.


As DTG indicated, there really shouldn't be any performance increase. I've gone through my notes from several scenarios, as well as areas on my route, and in 64bit there is no appreciable gain or loss of fps. (as it should be)

However... on the memory side:

64-3.jpg
64-3.jpg (447.98 KiB) Viewed 285 times


This is West Colton Yard on Tomcat's fantastic Cajon-Mojave route. Just being in this area in 32bit would bring my system to the brink of memory dumping, even before adding rolling stock. Above I've added stock from 3 DTG DLC routes, 6 total providers, 12 individual stock DLC. ~900 freight cars and 40 ACTIVE idling locomotives. As I've highlighted, it takes the game almost 6GB of RAM to process this scene. This is almost double the amount of memory what would have caused a crash in 32bit.

This is an over the top demonstration of the game's new capabilities, but it highlights one of the reasons why 64bit is better.
SP Siskiyou Line - Scenery WIP
User avatar
BoostedFridge
 
Posts: 1858
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2013 6:39 am
Location: Vancouver, BC

Re: Train Simulator 2019 is available now

Unread postby wacampbell » Sat Oct 13, 2018 2:48 pm

BoostedFridge> This is why 64 bit

An excellent example to demonstrate the new capabilities. Were you able to maintain acceptable frame rates with this much density?

Wayne
Wayne Campbell
wacampbell
 
Posts: 332
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 12:45 pm
Location: BC, Canada

Re: Train Simulator 2019 is available now

Unread postby BoostedFridge » Sat Oct 13, 2018 2:59 pm

wacampbell wrote:An excellent example to demonstrate the new capabilities. Were you able to maintain acceptable frame rates with this much density?



With my GPU in 'standard' mode (pictured above) the in game FPS counter displayed 17fps, while FRAPS showed 19fps. In overclocked mode on my card the in game counter showed 21fps, and FRAPS 23fps.

Panning the free look camera was not as smooth as normal, but once locked in to the fixed 3rd person view cameras the movement and panning with the train was decently smooth. The FPS jumped up ~10% also.

When I delete the AI drivers from the locomotives, the FPS for the scene jumps up to almost 30fps.

I'm using a GTX1070, with graphics settings on 'highest', and anti aliasing at FXAA+8 x MSAA.
SP Siskiyou Line - Scenery WIP
User avatar
BoostedFridge
 
Posts: 1858
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2013 6:39 am
Location: Vancouver, BC

PreviousNext

Return to TS2019

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests