Loading Screen

This forum is for developers who do not have a dedicated forum.

Loading Screen

Unread postby Roadmaster259 » Mon Aug 07, 2017 1:07 pm

According to the Developer Docs, one ought to be able to place a loading screen into their route template; presumably so that it will appear as the route loads. I've created an .ace file in the proper size ratio, named it "loading_screen.ace" and placed it in the TemplateRoutes folder of the applicable route. Yet, I am unable to get the loading screen to load (that's irony for you).

According to the Docs, the loading screen string is located after "Skies" and before "Weather." There is no need to add Provider and Product to the string, again, according to the Developer Docs. If I understand the instructions correctly, the applicable portion of my route template is supposed to look as follows:
</Skies>
<TextureID d:type="cDeltaString">loading_screen.ace</TextureID>
<BackgroundFilePath d:type="cDeltaString">TemplateRoutes\loading_screen.ace</BackgroundFilePath>
<WeatherBlueprint>

Obviously, there is something wrong. Can someone please help me to get this loading screen to load?
User avatar
Roadmaster259
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2016 3:14 pm
Location: Penticton, British Columbia, Canada

Re: Loading Screen

Unread postby JohnS » Mon Aug 07, 2017 3:55 pm

From what I've read it should read: <TextureID d:type="cDeltaString">TemplateRoutes\loading_screen.ace</TextureID>
You still have to jump into one more folder even though you have the Source\Provider\ you still need to jump into the TemplateRoutes folder to read the ace. I'm not totally sure this feature still works since they moved to Steam sales it has loading screens based on what they want you to see. It will be awesome if it works.
John Stephens
Locomotive Engineer
Indiana Harbor Belt
User avatar
JohnS
 
Posts: 952
Joined: Sun Dec 29, 2013 6:48 am
Location: Chesterton IN

Re: Loading Screen

Unread postby buzz456 » Mon Aug 07, 2017 5:15 pm

Or is this just the picture that pops up when you are looking through the routes?
Buzz
39 and holding.
"Some people find fault like there's a reward for it."- Zig Ziglar
"If you can dream it you can do it."- Walt Disney
Image
User avatar
buzz456
Site Admin
 
Posts: 14968
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2010 8:30 am
Location: Sycamore, Il

Re: Loading Screen

Unread postby JohnS » Mon Aug 07, 2017 5:33 pm

buzz456 wrote:Or is this just the picture that pops up when you are looking through the routes?

I just double checked and that particular picture is in the RouteInformation folder as a png image. I didn't think of that good call.
John Stephens
Locomotive Engineer
Indiana Harbor Belt
User avatar
JohnS
 
Posts: 952
Joined: Sun Dec 29, 2013 6:48 am
Location: Chesterton IN

Re: Loading Screen

Unread postby Roadmaster259 » Tue Aug 08, 2017 11:04 am

The "image.png" file found in the RouteInformation folder is the image displayed when selecting the route from the menu. That's not the one I was referring to as the loading_screen.

It would appear that the loading_screen feature no longer works as it has been replaced with a promotional splash for another product (DLC). Shame.
User avatar
Roadmaster259
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2016 3:14 pm
Location: Penticton, British Columbia, Canada

Re: Loading Screen

Unread postby Brickrail782 » Sat Jan 20, 2018 5:07 pm

Roadmaster259 wrote:The "image.png" file found in the RouteInformation folder is the image displayed when selecting the route from the menu. That's not the one I was referring to as the loading_screen.

It would appear that the loading_screen feature no longer works as it has been replaced with a promotional splash for another product (DLC). Shame.


Yep, its just filled with TSW ads. :/
Brickrail782
 
Posts: 426
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2017 6:47 am
Location: Kansas City, KS


Return to 3rd Party Developers Support Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest