Wow my ADSL2 Speed test.

Discussion about computers: Hardware, Problems, etc.

Wow my ADSL2 Speed test.

Unread postby trev123 » Mon Jan 29, 2018 2:33 pm

Intel i5-2500K 3.3GHz Quad Core, Asus P8Z 68-V LE MB, Asus GTX 960 Strix 2GB OC graphics card, Windows 10 Home 64 bit, 8gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3 ram, Viewsonic VX2452 LED 1080P HD Monitor, Seagate Barracuda 1 TB 64MB Sata3 HD, Corsair 650W PSU. Gamer Since 1985
User avatar
trev123
 
Posts: 1394
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 9:40 pm
Location: Home Of The Americas Cup

Re: Wow my ADSL2 Speed test.

Unread postby AmericanSteam » Mon Jan 29, 2018 2:42 pm

Intel i7 6700K @ 4.4GHz, ASUS Z170 Pro Gaming MB, 16 GB DDR4 @ 3200, ASUS GTX 1060 6GB, Corsair CX850M PSU, XSPC D5 Vario cooling pump, Windows 10 Pro 64 Version 1709, running TSW and Railworks on a Samsung 960 EVO M.2 SSD, Dual Monitors 1920 x 1080.
User avatar
AmericanSteam
 
Posts: 410
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2015 9:54 am
Location: Nevada City California

Re: Wow my ADSL2 Speed test.

Unread postby trev123 » Mon Jan 29, 2018 3:24 pm

Yeah that is not ADSL2 though. Mine was normally about 10MPs. Always some smarty.
Intel i5-2500K 3.3GHz Quad Core, Asus P8Z 68-V LE MB, Asus GTX 960 Strix 2GB OC graphics card, Windows 10 Home 64 bit, 8gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3 ram, Viewsonic VX2452 LED 1080P HD Monitor, Seagate Barracuda 1 TB 64MB Sata3 HD, Corsair 650W PSU. Gamer Since 1985
User avatar
trev123
 
Posts: 1394
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 9:40 pm
Location: Home Of The Americas Cup

Re: Wow my ADSL2 Speed test.

Unread postby AmericanSteam » Mon Jan 29, 2018 3:37 pm

I can sympathize with you, that is good. In some places you can get up to 24Mbs. Years ago I was on dial up then one day a notice was posted on the door that DSL was available, woo hoo. Started with 1.5 then 3 and moved when it was 6. On cable now and I am spoiled.
Intel i7 6700K @ 4.4GHz, ASUS Z170 Pro Gaming MB, 16 GB DDR4 @ 3200, ASUS GTX 1060 6GB, Corsair CX850M PSU, XSPC D5 Vario cooling pump, Windows 10 Pro 64 Version 1709, running TSW and Railworks on a Samsung 960 EVO M.2 SSD, Dual Monitors 1920 x 1080.
User avatar
AmericanSteam
 
Posts: 410
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2015 9:54 am
Location: Nevada City California

Re: Wow my ADSL2 Speed test.

Unread postby trev123 » Mon Jan 29, 2018 5:07 pm

Cable not available here but am going to fibre which has just become available here. Just waiting for them to connect me up, have put an order in with my ISP to do so. :D
Intel i5-2500K 3.3GHz Quad Core, Asus P8Z 68-V LE MB, Asus GTX 960 Strix 2GB OC graphics card, Windows 10 Home 64 bit, 8gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3 ram, Viewsonic VX2452 LED 1080P HD Monitor, Seagate Barracuda 1 TB 64MB Sata3 HD, Corsair 650W PSU. Gamer Since 1985
User avatar
trev123
 
Posts: 1394
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 9:40 pm
Location: Home Of The Americas Cup

Re: Wow my ADSL2 Speed test.

Unread postby jalsina » Mon Jan 29, 2018 6:21 pm

Waaa! The best of the best, you weaklings.... !*roll-laugh*!

speedtest_als.jpg
speedtest_als.jpg (39.67 KiB) Viewed 608 times


P.S. Two YouTube videos underway at the time of test !*lho*!
Intel i7-4790K (8M, 4.40 GHz) - MSI Z97 MB - 16 GB DDR3 RAM 2400 MHz
GPU EVGA GTX-1060 OC 6GB at 1920x1080, 144 Hz - Monitor ASUS VG-248QE
WD 7200 rpm HD
User avatar
jalsina
 
Posts: 1561
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 8:32 pm

Re: Wow my ADSL2 Speed test.

Unread postby AmericanSteam » Mon Jan 29, 2018 6:50 pm

trev123 wrote:Cable not available here but am going to fibre which has just become available here. Just waiting for them to connect me up, have put an order in with my ISP to do so. :D

So will you be in the TB range? !**app*!
Intel i7 6700K @ 4.4GHz, ASUS Z170 Pro Gaming MB, 16 GB DDR4 @ 3200, ASUS GTX 1060 6GB, Corsair CX850M PSU, XSPC D5 Vario cooling pump, Windows 10 Pro 64 Version 1709, running TSW and Railworks on a Samsung 960 EVO M.2 SSD, Dual Monitors 1920 x 1080.
User avatar
AmericanSteam
 
Posts: 410
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2015 9:54 am
Location: Nevada City California

Re: Wow my ADSL2 Speed test.

Unread postby peterhayes » Tue Jan 30, 2018 5:31 pm

Trev
Those were similar to my ADSL2 speeds.
Just hooked up the Aussie NBN - FTTN D/L 97 Mbps, Upload 38Mbps.
You will be blown away by your new service, especially if it is similar to that in Dunedin.
pH
User avatar
peterhayes
 
Posts: 707
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 12:34 am
Location: Antipodes

Re: Wow my ADSL2 Speed test.

Unread postby trev123 » Thu Feb 01, 2018 12:47 pm

What I think that is happening in NZ is that as more people go onto fibre and the less people on the copper wire is that ADSL2 is getting faster. Don't know what the max. speed you can get out of ADSL2 is though.
Intel i5-2500K 3.3GHz Quad Core, Asus P8Z 68-V LE MB, Asus GTX 960 Strix 2GB OC graphics card, Windows 10 Home 64 bit, 8gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3 ram, Viewsonic VX2452 LED 1080P HD Monitor, Seagate Barracuda 1 TB 64MB Sata3 HD, Corsair 650W PSU. Gamer Since 1985
User avatar
trev123
 
Posts: 1394
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 9:40 pm
Location: Home Of The Americas Cup

Re: Wow my ADSL2 Speed test.

Unread postby buzz456 » Thu Feb 01, 2018 4:09 pm

speed test3.jpg
speed test3.jpg (419.02 KiB) Viewed 524 times
Buzz
39 and holding.
"Some people find fault like there's a reward for it."- Zig Ziglar
"If you can dream it you can do it."- Walt Disney
Image
User avatar
buzz456
Site Admin
 
Posts: 14922
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2010 8:30 am
Location: Sycamore, Il

Re: Wow my ADSL2 Speed test.

Unread postby trev123 » Thu May 24, 2018 4:12 pm

Ok on fibre now.
Attachments
fibre.jpg
fibre.jpg (207.58 KiB) Viewed 337 times
Intel i5-2500K 3.3GHz Quad Core, Asus P8Z 68-V LE MB, Asus GTX 960 Strix 2GB OC graphics card, Windows 10 Home 64 bit, 8gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3 ram, Viewsonic VX2452 LED 1080P HD Monitor, Seagate Barracuda 1 TB 64MB Sata3 HD, Corsair 650W PSU. Gamer Since 1985
User avatar
trev123
 
Posts: 1394
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 9:40 pm
Location: Home Of The Americas Cup

Re: Wow my ADSL2 Speed test.

Unread postby peterhayes » Thu May 24, 2018 5:29 pm

Trev
Great speeds - which fibre?
Fibre to the premises (FTTP) (House/Home) ...
Fibre to the node (FTTN) ...
Fibre to the basement (FTTB) (Block of Units)...
Fibre to the driveway (FTTC / FTTDP / FTTD) (Kerb)

Your speeds equate to my FTTN speeds. :D

Regards

PeterH
User avatar
peterhayes
 
Posts: 707
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 12:34 am
Location: Antipodes

Re: Wow my ADSL2 Speed test.

Unread postby trev123 » Thu May 24, 2018 6:28 pm

Peter, how do I know this. I live on the back section of a 3 unit section. All I know is that they connect a cable up to the main cable on the road and ran it underground down the driveway, with three take off points. I am the only one connected at the moment. The installers put the cable up the outside wall then into the ceiling then put it down the wall behind my computer into a terminal box which needs power to run it. I also got my phone put onto it which as you know is called voip. The phone is plugged into the back of the modem a Huawei HG659. Need to have the modem and terminal powered on 24/7.
Intel i5-2500K 3.3GHz Quad Core, Asus P8Z 68-V LE MB, Asus GTX 960 Strix 2GB OC graphics card, Windows 10 Home 64 bit, 8gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3 ram, Viewsonic VX2452 LED 1080P HD Monitor, Seagate Barracuda 1 TB 64MB Sata3 HD, Corsair 650W PSU. Gamer Since 1985
User avatar
trev123
 
Posts: 1394
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 9:40 pm
Location: Home Of The Americas Cup

Re: Wow my ADSL2 Speed test.

Unread postby peterhayes » Thu May 24, 2018 6:54 pm

Trev
You seem to have the very best connection FTTP!!
Very difficult to get in OZ - but FTTN (which I have) is quite good as I am only 100m to the node. It will get slower as more subscribers get connected whereas your connection will always be the same.
Choice magazine (consumer organisation) have just joined a lot of us up - attaching a monitor to our NBN connection - am awaiting my individual speeds to be published.
Regards
pH
User avatar
peterhayes
 
Posts: 707
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 12:34 am
Location: Antipodes

Re: Wow my ADSL2 Speed test.

Unread postby latimers » Fri May 25, 2018 3:30 pm

I'm in Auckland and get FTTP.

I pay for 200 down / 20 up and fairly consistently get a little over 200 down with a 3 ms ping.

Soon to switch to 900 down / 450 up. The actual speed will be interesting.
latimers
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2012 9:29 pm
Location: Auckland, New Zealand


Return to Geek Speak

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest