Updating to TS 2012, Some Issues

Announcements and Discussion about Michael Stephans' Golden Age of Railroading Development

Updating to TS 2012, Some Issues

Unread postby GreatNortherner » Mon Sep 26, 2011 2:28 pm

Hi,

This is just a quick notice that I'm in the process of updating ALL of my rolling stock objects (and later scenery too) to TS 2012 specs and requirements. I have not tested each and every car yet, but so far I'm thinking they should all still work in TS 2012.

However, the graphics are a bit messy. TS 2012 renders specularity (glossiness) much stronger than before, and as I used quite a bit of specularity on many of my models they are now appearing very shiny in the new graphics environment. Also, on some of my older modes I used some experimental ("quirky") ambient/diffuse settings for the textures, which had a nice visual effect in RS and early RW, but now comes and bites me in the *** as these models look way too bright now (as you'd expect them in normal graphics engine with these settings too, so it looks like I shot myself in the foot there).

So, in a nutshell, I am going through my entire catalog of add-ons, updating all of them. While I'm at it, I'll also overhaul the models as much as possible, like add new trucks, couplers, and so on. I'll be uploading the completed RW3-ready packs to my website one by one. For the time being, I have disabled all old packs, even if they work still relatively fine. This is mainly to avoid confusion with this huge update process, as I really want to do all of them.

Cheers,
Michael

PS: Does anybody have an idea how to deal with the gazillion of repaints out there? It's not only my add-ons where this problem exists -- the base model will be updated, which will either turn the repaints outdated, using an older shape (best case), or in the worst case, break them completely (if they depend on manual shape file copying in the case of payware repaints.)
Golden Age Rails: Website + Blog
Virtual New Haven: Website + Blog
GreatNortherner
 
Posts: 1127
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2009 12:19 pm
Location: Czech Republic and Germany

Re: Updating to TS 2012, Some Issues

Unread postby Kali » Mon Sep 26, 2011 2:45 pm

Honestly if you're going to change the model enough that it needs remapping, I'd stick it in a new product folder, call it a new model with a new name and don't try and force it to be back-compatible. That way at least the old ones will work unchanged, even if they look terrible in the new engine.

If it's just new trucks, couplers and some materials changed, then other than repaints needing less specular is there going to be a problem anyway?
Kali
 
Posts: 1599
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2011 2:00 am
Location: England-by-Sea

Re: Updating to TS 2012, Some Issues

Unread postby jpetersjr » Mon Sep 26, 2011 11:00 pm

I know what you mean, now my models have a strange, glowing aura around them, that shouldn't be there.

By the way, I am unable to take a picture of it because it seems like RW3 won't play in half screen like the old one, only full screen. I can't get into the game until I put it on full screen.
Jonathan Burton Peters Jr

System of the retro era assets and the old downtown era.

My website for the progress of the assets for the upcoming freeware Zephyr Route.
Image
http://jpetersjr1.wixsite.com/big-j-productions




3D Freeware Scenery Developer Since 2011
User avatar
jpetersjr
 
Posts: 3608
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2011 7:31 pm
Location: Mobile, Alabama, United States,

Re: Updating to TS 2012, Some Issues

Unread postby Toripony » Tue Sep 27, 2011 1:02 am

Kali wrote:Honestly if you're going to change the model enough that it needs remapping, I'd stick it in a new product folder, call it a new model with a new name and don't try and force it to be back-compatible. That way at least the old ones will work unchanged, even if they look terrible in the new engine.

If it's just new trucks, couplers and some materials changed, then other than repaints needing less specular is there going to be a problem anyway?



I agree with Kali, Mike... make them like new products, including a "2012 optimized" or some such label in the Readme, Screenshots and Download page. Am hoping everyone will do something similar. Remember there are people out there who will continue to use RW2 for a while if they saved it or opted out of the upgrade. Some file renaming and you'll have to re-export new bins anyway, right? However, I also agree with you shutting down your RW2 download page; help prevent further spread of an outdated product. I might leave my COA asset and rolling stock paks up for a week or two yet, then take them down and start collecting new versions for a new updated package. Does that sound ok or bad idea? Bob, you should chime in here, too... are you repainting yours? I know Gordon is working on some of his C&O equipment as time permits (he's really busy at the moment).
User avatar
Toripony
 
Posts: 1082
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2009 4:13 am

Re: Updating to TS 2012, Some Issues

Unread postby Hawk » Tue Sep 27, 2011 9:30 am

Now y'all got me wonderin' if'n I should shut down some sections of the library. !**conf**!
Hawk
 

Re: Updating to TS 2012, Some Issues

Unread postby TDHenderson » Tue Sep 27, 2011 10:24 am

If it were me, I wouldn't shut them down, but anything new that is "TS2012 Compatible" could be tagged as such, so we can all see what has been updated and what is an RW2 legacy item.

**!!2cents!!**

Trevor
User avatar
TDHenderson
 
Posts: 696
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2010 11:14 am
Location: Omaha, Nebraska

Re: Updating to TS 2012, Some Issues

Unread postby Hawk » Tue Sep 27, 2011 10:53 am

I could do that, but that would depend on the uploader telling me it is 2012 compatible or else I won't know.
Hawk
 

Re: Updating to TS 2012, Some Issues

Unread postby TDHenderson » Tue Sep 27, 2011 11:01 am

Could you add something to your upload page that would force the uploader to specify "RW2 Legacy" or "TS2012" compatibility before they can upload? Just a thought.

Trevor
User avatar
TDHenderson
 
Posts: 696
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2010 11:14 am
Location: Omaha, Nebraska

Re: Updating to TS 2012, Some Issues

Unread postby Hawk » Tue Sep 27, 2011 1:45 pm

Now there's a thought. Yes, I believe I can. !!*ok*!! *!!thnx!!*
Hawk
 

Re: Updating to TS 2012, Some Issues

Unread postby GreatNortherner » Tue Sep 27, 2011 3:39 pm

Hi,

Thanks for your very helpful feedback!

Yes, keeping the old stuff around and just label it as "RW2 legacy" or something like that is indeed a good idea!

Tori, Kali, so far I haven't touched the heavily repainted packs yet, but I guess I'll do it more or less like you suggested. In any case I will supply the original RS/RW1/RW2 shape file with the TS2012 pack too, so all old repaints will work no matter what. Keeping the mapping intact will work in most cases, but I'll have to see if it can happen on all cars. I kind of doubt it, some models could be improved quite much with a little remapping and applying new textures. *!embar*! New Bin files (couplers, brake physics, whatever else I may need to edit) shouldn't break anything in the repaints I suppose, they all have their own fully independent set of BINs anyway and only depend on the Geo files.

Cheers,
Michael
Golden Age Rails: Website + Blog
Virtual New Haven: Website + Blog
GreatNortherner
 
Posts: 1127
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2009 12:19 pm
Location: Czech Republic and Germany

Re: Updating to TS 2012, Some Issues

Unread postby Dan » Tue Sep 27, 2011 5:00 pm

Hawk wrote:Now there's a thought. Yes, I believe I can. !!*ok*!! *!!thnx!!*


It might be worth adding a note that old repaints of the SD40, Gevo, etc require the old GeoDcPx and that they won't work with the revised models.
Dan
 
Posts: 158
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 8:46 am

Re: Updating to TS 2012, Some Issues

Unread postby Hawk » Tue Sep 27, 2011 7:03 pm

Dan wrote:It might be worth adding a note that old repaints of the SD40, Gevo, etc require the old GeoDcPx and that they won't work with the revised models.

I'm thinking that would be up to the repainters to determine and specify what other files are required.
Hawk
 

Re: Updating to TS 2012, Some Issues

Unread postby Kali » Wed Sep 28, 2011 12:32 am

I can't think of any way a new blueprint will hurt existing paint, thankfully. For models you're no longer happy with, I think the benefits of a new model will outweigh any grumbles painters might have about having to shuffle their repaint around a bit to fit new mapping, they only have to do it once anyway. Given the change in alpha channel response in TSX it's a good idea for painters to go revisit their paint anyway.
Kali
 
Posts: 1599
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2011 2:00 am
Location: England-by-Sea

Re: Updating to TS 2012, Some Issues

Unread postby Dan » Mon Oct 03, 2011 3:00 pm

Hawk wrote:I'm thinking that would be up to the repainters to determine and specify what other files are required.


I was thinking about for the repaints that are already up and hosted. For example someone might have uploaded a repaint in 2009, someone new coming to the game in 2012 will have the new GeoPcDx and won't be able to get the repaint to work, the repainter themselves might have moved on (or sadly passed on).

It's a sort of limbo situation.
Dan
 
Posts: 158
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 8:46 am

Re: Updating to TS 2012, Some Issues

Unread postby Hawk » Mon Oct 03, 2011 3:05 pm

Actually, I'm considering splitting the library up into an RW2 section and a TS2012 section. Possibly even eliminating most of the RW2 files sometime in the near/not so distant future.
Hawk
 

Next

Return to Golden Age of Railroading

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest