Creating a Standard Scenario

"Getting started", "Manuals", "Tutorials", "Tools", "Tips and tricks", "Sources", etc.

Creating a Standard Scenario

Unread postby artimrj » Tue Jan 08, 2013 9:58 am

Here are some vids I made explaining how to make a standard freight scenario.

Part 1 setting it up.

In 1680 x 1050 50 meg


This part shows you how to choose a train and rolling stock. How to load the rolling stock and how to add a driver to your engine. It is longer and bigger than part 1 so I am only going to do the 1680x1050 ones. I guess I blab too much...

Part 2 making a train 12:30:20 and 250 meg


This takes you into the timetable editor mode and shows you how to set up a drop off and final destination. Explanations for functions in a drop off operation.

Click to stream or right click and SAVE TARGET AS to dl to your hard drive.

Part 3 Operations & Paths 145 meg 17:23


This explains how to add an AI train to your scenario and some things that can possibly go wrong in the process.

Part 4 Adding an Ai Train 250 meg 15:08


Part 5 gives you some tips on populating the scenario with static consists and explains how to make a reusable consist to place long strings of cars in mass, instead of 1 by 1.

This one is pretty big for how short it is, seems to make larger file when moving around the route for some reason. All I can say is I am a rookie vid maker.

Part 5 Eye Candy & Consists 352.6 meg 11:23


This one is an example of adding a second AI train to the mix.

Part 6 Adding another AI 153.5 meg 08:22


This is explaining how to treat Train Simulator when adding more complex things like AI traffic to a scenario. Also about adjusting timing in order to add a degree of interaction with the AI.

Part 6b - Suppliment to part 6 57.6meg 06:14


In this one you will add another AI that will work on a siding in New Wadsworth. We set it up to be running as the player train passes through to give a feeling of life. While doing so a new bug for TS2013 also crops up and I show you how to resolve it as well. Also shown is how to add a DLC or repaint or anything else you may have downloaded and installed using the Object Set Filter and place a Siding Marker.

Part 7 Adding More AI 300.8 meg 14:59


WHen your creating a scenario you are also creating an environment, with the resources we have, this environment has to be scripted. Everything has to do with where the player is at a certain time. We already have some interaction with our second AI train at the Vinland siding. Which is just stopping and waiting for it to pass. In this session of the tutorial we place 2 more AI trains; a tanker train in Element and a "Pike" Passenger train coming from Element Platform. These both are to add to the environment of the scenario giving it what life we can. We also add a "fake" AI train, to give it a little more depth.

Part 8 - Even MORE AI 174.5 meg 07:28


This shows you how to use Triggers and stop at/go via functions to add pop up message to game play. Also how to use the 2D map to preset manual switches for the player if desired. If the final test is ok, then that will conclude this tutorial, if it does not work the way I expect, there may be another part. Then we will package it up for uploading.

Part 9 Optional goodies 135.3 meg 19:02

I moved the pop up message and changed the final destination. All done.

Part 10 - Final Adjustments 83.6 meg 09:33
Bob Artim
I don't have a PHD, I have a DD214... Freedom carries sacrifice

6th Gen i7 6700K @ 4.0 GHz, 16 gig, NVidia GTX 970 4 Gig, 5 TB of Maxtor HDs, 128 Gig SSD, 800 W PSU & Win 10 64 bit
User avatar
artimrj
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4289
Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2010 3:07 pm
Location: Beaver, Pennsylvania

Re: Creating a Standard Scenario

Unread postby harryadkins » Tue Jan 08, 2013 1:39 pm

I've worked through most of Bob's videos and they are excellent. Thank you, Bob.
User avatar
harryadkins
 
Posts: 1712
Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2009 8:01 am
Location: South Carolina, USA

Re: Creating a Standard Scenario

Unread postby artimrj » Tue Jan 08, 2013 1:43 pm

Thanks Harry, and another part is coming. Going to change the final destination and give more detail on ending the scenario.
Bob Artim
I don't have a PHD, I have a DD214... Freedom carries sacrifice

6th Gen i7 6700K @ 4.0 GHz, 16 gig, NVidia GTX 970 4 Gig, 5 TB of Maxtor HDs, 128 Gig SSD, 800 W PSU & Win 10 64 bit
User avatar
artimrj
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4289
Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2010 3:07 pm
Location: Beaver, Pennsylvania

Re: Creating a Standard Scenario

Unread postby artimrj » Thu Jan 10, 2013 4:31 pm

Thanks Clayton, more coming as I get time. I am glad they help. Hopefuly we will get a few more scenario writers from it.
Bob Artim
I don't have a PHD, I have a DD214... Freedom carries sacrifice

6th Gen i7 6700K @ 4.0 GHz, 16 gig, NVidia GTX 970 4 Gig, 5 TB of Maxtor HDs, 128 Gig SSD, 800 W PSU & Win 10 64 bit
User avatar
artimrj
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4289
Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2010 3:07 pm
Location: Beaver, Pennsylvania

Re: Creating a Standard Scenario

Unread postby Coaltrain1 » Fri Jan 11, 2013 6:32 pm

Exellent video's, Thank You. All in one place, very easy to follow. Again Thank you to all involved. !!*ok*!! !!*ok*!! !!*ok*!!
There's Always Plenty To Do, When your on the V.2

V.R.E.A. Founder
The Lake Superior & Western RR.V.2
http://railroadersonline.freeforums.net/
User avatar
Coaltrain1
 
Posts: 476
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2011 5:28 am
Location: Clarksburg WV

Re: Creating a Standard Scenario

Unread postby artimrj » Tue Jan 15, 2013 11:08 am

I added a 10th part. Changed the ending and moved the pop up message.
Bob Artim
I don't have a PHD, I have a DD214... Freedom carries sacrifice

6th Gen i7 6700K @ 4.0 GHz, 16 gig, NVidia GTX 970 4 Gig, 5 TB of Maxtor HDs, 128 Gig SSD, 800 W PSU & Win 10 64 bit
User avatar
artimrj
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4289
Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2010 3:07 pm
Location: Beaver, Pennsylvania

Re: Creating a Standard Scenario

Unread postby Coaltrain1 » Sun Jan 20, 2013 10:05 pm

I have been having a bit of a time understanding how to make things work, in making a standard Scenario after going thru these step by step I got it going. Thank You Sir.
There's Always Plenty To Do, When your on the V.2

V.R.E.A. Founder
The Lake Superior & Western RR.V.2
http://railroadersonline.freeforums.net/
User avatar
Coaltrain1
 
Posts: 476
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2011 5:28 am
Location: Clarksburg WV

Re: Creating a Standard Scenario

Unread postby artimrj » Mon Jan 21, 2013 12:06 am

Coaltrain1 wrote:I have been having a bit of a time understanding how to make things work, in making a standard Scenario after going thru these step by step I got it going. Thank You Sir.


Glad it helped you out, we need more scenarios writers. I am working on an advanced section, loading and unloading and refueling.
Bob Artim
I don't have a PHD, I have a DD214... Freedom carries sacrifice

6th Gen i7 6700K @ 4.0 GHz, 16 gig, NVidia GTX 970 4 Gig, 5 TB of Maxtor HDs, 128 Gig SSD, 800 W PSU & Win 10 64 bit
User avatar
artimrj
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4289
Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2010 3:07 pm
Location: Beaver, Pennsylvania

Re: Creating a Standard Scenario

Unread postby Coaltrain1 » Mon Jan 21, 2013 10:56 am

Will be looking forward to watching them, Very easy to Follow and understand. Thank you Again Sir.
There's Always Plenty To Do, When your on the V.2

V.R.E.A. Founder
The Lake Superior & Western RR.V.2
http://railroadersonline.freeforums.net/
User avatar
Coaltrain1
 
Posts: 476
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2011 5:28 am
Location: Clarksburg WV

Re: Creating a Standard Scenario

Unread postby CSX2057 » Wed Jan 30, 2013 2:11 pm

OH MY GOSH DUDE!

Finally something new and better tutorial about the trains. Thank you artimrj for making this tutorial. I've downloaded all of them and learning more and more. YOU DA BOMB!

*!!thnx!!*
Daniel
My youtube channel
Favorite Railroads: CHESSIE SYSTEM | UNION PACIFIC | NORFOLK SOUTHERN | STEAM LOCOMOTIVES
User avatar
CSX2057
 
Posts: 1391
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2011 11:18 am
Location: Georgia

Re: Creating a Standard Scenario

Unread postby artimrj » Wed Jan 30, 2013 2:19 pm

Your welcome Daniel, stay tuned for more to come.

Maybe I should ask for requests of what isn't covered yet?
Bob Artim
I don't have a PHD, I have a DD214... Freedom carries sacrifice

6th Gen i7 6700K @ 4.0 GHz, 16 gig, NVidia GTX 970 4 Gig, 5 TB of Maxtor HDs, 128 Gig SSD, 800 W PSU & Win 10 64 bit
User avatar
artimrj
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4289
Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2010 3:07 pm
Location: Beaver, Pennsylvania

Re: Creating a Standard Scenario

Unread postby norse » Mon Feb 04, 2013 11:14 am

A picture is worth a 1,000 words. Video.....PRICELESS!!! Thanks for the excellent tutorial. !!*ok*!!
norse
 

Re: Creating a Standard Scenario

Unread postby JerryM3d » Sat Feb 16, 2013 6:49 pm

I had almost given up on learning to create scenarios for TS2013 mostly due to poor documentation for the process and my slow learning curve.

I wrote many acts for MSTS at NERR and Bison Rail (my handle was HiLine). I have a lot to learn about TS2013 but I am encouraged by your tutorials.

Thank you Bob.
JerryM3d
 

Re: Creating a Standard Scenario

Unread postby hefy_jefy » Thu Mar 14, 2013 12:48 am

Just what I needed, thanks to these videos I am well on my way to getting the California Zephyr from Roseville to Colfax, it will be interesting see how close to the real world timetable I get! Now into Part 4 and adding some action. Very clear, concise and pointing out some of the problems.
Many thanks
Geoff
hefy_jefy
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2011 1:52 pm
Location: California Central Coast

Re: Creating a Standard Scenario

Unread postby Tufnel » Wed Jul 24, 2013 6:27 am

Hi there,

I just joined Railworks America just to say thanks for these videos. They are the best tutorials I have found, so thank you.

I have also downloaded the route that you have used in the videos. It is awesome. Would love to know if you intend to upload the scenario you built for the tutorials?

or have I missed it.

Regards
Tufnel
 

Next

Return to Information for new authors, builders and editors" (RWA developer's manual)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest