C&O Alleghany v5

This forum is for discussion and support of the C&O Allegheny Route by Toripony.

Moderator: Toripony

C&O Alleghany v5

Unread postby daniellouwrens » Wed Jul 12, 2017 5:51 pm

Hi

I downloaded and installed this Route yesterday and ran some this morning,
all I can say is WOW.

Actually I have more, this work is right up there with Rich Garber's stuff, so much to see,
very immersive (I forget the time and get roused on) and it runs like a dream on my
old Laptop.

Thank you so much Tori, this was a real labour of love.

Cheers

Daniel
daniellouwrens
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 1:42 pm

Missing C&O passenger set

Unread postby NKP1 » Fri Feb 02, 2018 9:40 pm

Well, fellas, it's been a few years since I ran the sim and posted to this thread. Installed TS2018 clean on a new PC and downloaded and installed COA v.5. Everything works except when I try to run the "WB Passenger (req. C&O F7 set) it poops out saying "consist builder - can't load rail vehicle - C&O E8A" Same goes for the ribside baggage and ribside coach. I'm afraid I just don't remember how to do this anymore. So treat me like a total newbie and walk me through it please. thanks. !**conf**!
Nickel Plate High Speed Service
http://www.nkphts.org/history.html
User avatar
NKP1
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2012 3:53 pm
Location: Grand Rapids, MI

Re: C&O Alleghany v5

Unread postby harryadkins » Fri Feb 02, 2018 10:04 pm

You can use RW Tools (free) to edit the consist files using rolling stock you have.
User avatar
harryadkins
 
Posts: 1736
Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2009 8:01 am
Location: South Carolina, USA

Re: C&O Alleghany v5

Unread postby NKP1 » Sat Feb 03, 2018 2:47 pm

Found, downloaded and installed that. But I don't have the slightest idea what to do with it. All the terminology is foreign to me.
Nickel Plate High Speed Service
http://www.nkphts.org/history.html
User avatar
NKP1
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2012 3:53 pm
Location: Grand Rapids, MI

Re: C&O Alleghany v5

Unread postby kris120 » Sat Feb 03, 2018 6:09 pm

Look for something like "Check scenarios" or "Check rolling stock in scenarios".
RWtools has a good manual. Very much recommended!
User avatar
kris120
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2013 3:19 pm
Location: Augsburg, Bavaria, Germany

Re: C&O Alleghany v5

Unread postby NKP1 » Sun Feb 04, 2018 4:47 pm

Ok. Looking at the manual, pages 11-13. Ran RW tools > route building tools > check routes or scenarios > check selected route > Allegheny 5. But all that seems to do is check for scenery? How do I get it to check for missing rolling stock only? That substitute and replace would be great if I knew how to work it.

Now, selecting only the GW COV-RON scenario from the list and "list items used by selected scenario". Then highlighting each item listed and choosing one such as > Britkits\EMD\RailVehicles\Diesel\E8\CnO-E8\Engine\x-E8a-ndb.bin and then clicking on "check selected stock for missing files" produces this list:

Checking: C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\RailWorks\Assets\Britkits\EMD\RailVehicles\Diesel\E8\CnO-E8\Engine\x-E8a-ndb.bin
Missing Files:-

C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\RailWorks\Assets\BritKits\EMD\RailVehicles\Diesel\E8\CnO-E8\Engine\E8A-ndb-RW3.GeoPcDx
C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\RailWorks\Assets\Kuju\RailSimulatorUS\Audio\RailNetwork\Coupling\Coupling.proxyxml
C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\RailWorks\Assets\BritKits\EMD\RailVehicles\Diesel\E8\CnO-E8\Engine\E8A-ndb-RW3.geopcdx
C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\RailWorks\Assets\BritKits\EMD\RailVehicles\Diesel\E8\CnO-E8\Engine\E8A-ndb-RW3.geopcdx
C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\RailWorks\Assets\BritKits\EMD\Britkits\EMD\Audio\RailVehicles\Diesel\E\Cab\E_Cab_Occlusion.bin

I do have those files in my old COA folder. And I could manually copy from that and insert into the correct ones. But that is rather tedious for all the missing rolling stock and could take all day (and into the night) Seems the software should be able to do that for me easily. But how?

Also what is an .AP file? Is that the same as .RWP?
Nickel Plate High Speed Service
http://www.nkphts.org/history.html
User avatar
NKP1
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2012 3:53 pm
Location: Grand Rapids, MI

Re: C&O Alleghany v5

Unread postby NKP1 » Sun Feb 04, 2018 7:19 pm

So I got the E8 train in the sim now. And you can hear it idling. But the throttle control is missing. And keyboard commands don't work. Help please.

And Lord knows where the F7 passenger set is. Think I might just go to another PC where I know it's working and copy the 31gb of railworks files and merge them with what I have on the laptop here. Maybe that'll work.
Nickel Plate High Speed Service
http://www.nkphts.org/history.html
User avatar
NKP1
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2012 3:53 pm
Location: Grand Rapids, MI

Re: C&O Alleghany v5

Unread postby NKP1 » Mon Feb 05, 2018 12:06 am

Merging the railworks files from the desktop PC with those that were lacking on the laptop worked. Now running the F7 passenger set from one end of the route to the other. The E8 controls are now working as well in expert mode only. Simple controls with the E8 are apparently disabled.
Nickel Plate High Speed Service
http://www.nkphts.org/history.html
User avatar
NKP1
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2012 3:53 pm
Location: Grand Rapids, MI

Re: C&O Alleghany v5

Unread postby OldProf » Thu Feb 08, 2018 10:44 am

Solving one's own problems is always satisfying. Congratulations and keep us posted.
Tom Pallen (Old Prof)

{Win 10 Home 64-bit; Intel Core i7 6700 @ 3.40GHz; 16.0GB Single-Channel @ 1063 MHz (15-15-15-364); 2047MB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960}
User avatar
OldProf
 
Posts: 2746
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 10:09 am

Re: C&O Alleghany v5

Unread postby NKP1 » Sat Feb 10, 2018 9:00 pm

Yes but now I'm missing several files from the "Empties WB from Alleghany (CSX)" scenario. As an example, RW tools claims I need "es44dc_bnsf.bin" Now I can't find that anywhere. Nor can I find "ES44_CSX_Digits.bin". These are Kuju assets and they should be in there. Don't know if I have to purchase and reinstall the U.S. loco and asset pack or not as I already have Cajon Pass installed and that works fine. Also I can't locate and get the Bauer logging camp assets working now. It sure worked great with v. 4.5 and TS2012. Help please.
Nickel Plate High Speed Service
http://www.nkphts.org/history.html
User avatar
NKP1
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2012 3:53 pm
Location: Grand Rapids, MI

Re: C&O Alleghany v5

Unread postby buzz456 » Sun Feb 11, 2018 8:38 am

NKP1 wrote:Yes but now I'm missing several files from the "Empties WB from Alleghany (CSX)" scenario. As an example, RW tools claims I need "es44dc_bnsf.bin" Now I can't find that anywhere. Nor can I find "ES44_CSX_Digits.bin". These are Kuju assets and they should be in there. Don't know if I have to purchase and reinstall the U.S. loco and asset pack or not as I already have Cajon Pass installed and that works fine. Also I can't locate and get the Bauer logging camp assets working now. It sure worked great with v. 4.5 and TS2012. Help please.

As far as the Kuju assets if you didn't extract them from the.ap RWTools will show them to be missing because it only detects things that are outside of the ap however I am fairly sure you have them and they should work. As far as Bauer Lumber I'll take a look and see what I can find.
Buzz
39 and holding.
"Some people find fault like there's a reward for it."- Zig Ziglar
"If you can dream it you can do it."- Walt Disney
Image
User avatar
buzz456
Site Admin
 
Posts: 14867
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2010 8:30 am
Location: Sycamore, Il

Re: C&O Alleghany v5

Unread postby jamesphh » Sun Feb 11, 2018 10:35 am

Baur Lumber was a separate download from Tori's original site. Not available anywhere as far as I know. I do have the original file but have no authority to release.
jamesphh
 
Posts: 339
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2009 2:28 pm

Re: C&O Alleghany v5

Unread postby NKP1 » Sun Feb 11, 2018 1:34 pm

It's not in V.5? I have it working now. What doesn't work now is the free roam switching scenario around Ronceverte that uses the SW1200. (broken consist error) You can't just copy and paste missing files from one asset to another. It may satisfy RW Tools but it'll still error out and not run. As I mentioned before, I haven't really played with this since COA 4.5 and TS2012 when it all worked nicely and there were just a few of us on the forum. I might set this aside and play with TSW for awhile. cheers.
Nickel Plate High Speed Service
http://www.nkphts.org/history.html
User avatar
NKP1
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2012 3:53 pm
Location: Grand Rapids, MI

Re: C&O Alleghany v5

Unread postby NKP1 » Sun Feb 11, 2018 4:30 pm

Following scenarios are not working:
Standard
Exec-ursion
Empties WB from Alleghany (CSX)
Kanawha east

Free Roam
Explore Ronceverte (CSX)
Explore quarry (CSX)
Ronceverte switching (Black)
Ronceverte switching (SW1200)

I've no idea how to fix these so your suggestions greatly appreciated.
Nickel Plate High Speed Service
http://www.nkphts.org/history.html
User avatar
NKP1
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2012 3:53 pm
Location: Grand Rapids, MI

Re: C&O Alleghany v5

Unread postby NKP1 » Wed Feb 14, 2018 10:09 am

Would someone be good enough to help me with the files I need along with instructions? Or at least point me in the direction where they may be found. PM me with info. Thanks.
Nickel Plate High Speed Service
http://www.nkphts.org/history.html
User avatar
NKP1
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2012 3:53 pm
Location: Grand Rapids, MI

Next

Return to C&O Alleghany Route

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest